Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-18-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

No Tone for my Alarm

I had set an alarm to wake me up. My Bold did not ring at all the next day so i overslept. I was wondering why. So just to double check, i had set an alarm at 0917am (it was 0915am when i set again). And yet again it did not ring. It just showed a display to either dismiss or snooze.

I had re checked my alarm option. The alarm type was set to tone, the alarm tune was set to one of my songs and the volume was high. So why didn't it ring??? Anyone of you have this problem? and how do i solve it?

 

And oh i forgot to mention......i had switched off my bold and switched on again. And amazingly it worked. So i was happy and set alarm for next morning. And to my disappointment, it did not ring again. So the bottom line is....everytime i have to switch off and on to get the tone.

Posts: 94,471
Likes: 24,384
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: No Tone for my Alarm

Try testing the alarm on someting more normal like a short tone that isn't a full song. See if it works. Also, make sure the tone that you use is saved to your device memory, not your Media Card (in case there is a problem there).
>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-18-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: No Tone for my Alarm

Yes i have tried all those and still does not work.

Posts: 94,471
Likes: 24,384
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: No Tone for my Alarm

Perhaps you need to consider an OS upgrade. There seems something buggy about this, for certain.
>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎01-26-2009
My Device: Bold 9000

Re: No Tone for my Alarm

Yes, but there isn't a new OS upgrade for the Bold. =(
Forums Veteran III
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

Re: No Tone for my Alarm

Which software you have installed in the device?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎01-26-2009
My Device: Bold 9000

Re: No Tone for my Alarm

I have found a very easy solution, just use the Blackberry Bold's On/Off Feature in the Settings. 

 

I have experienced the same problem, been late for school and work too many times. Since resetting it works, I set my Off time to 4:25a.m and on time to 4:30a.m . So, this fixed my problem.

 

I think it really sucks, obviously, and I think Blackberry should have already release an OS update, pretty dissapointed that they haven't. =(

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-09-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: No Tone for my Alarm

I have recently been having the same problem. I have taken my battery out for 30 seconds and it seems to be working now. I am an aussie and I have never had a blackberry. I love my phone to death but it just seems like its one problem after another! Just 2 weeks ago I had to take my battery out because I couldnt send sms's! I hope blackberry can fix all of these problems as I am afraid that I wont be getting a blackberry as my next cell phone!

Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎09-28-2012
My Device: 9790 on os 7.1
My Carrier: MTN South Africa

Re: No Tone for my Alarm

Hey Guys

 

I am in SA and my wife has a 9900 the alarm tones as well as ring tones just stop working sometime. If you reset the phone it will for a little while but the problem comes back any ideas what could be wrong?

 

I have updated the OS to 7.1 and wipe the device and everything it just stops ringing.

Posts: 94,471
Likes: 24,384
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: No Tone for my Alarm

That's odd, a new one to me.

Are you using the stock alarm tones or something stored on the media card?

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code