Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Regular Contributor
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎08-06-2008
My Device: Blackberry Bold (9000)

No WiFi without Data Plan

So I cannot use the Web Browser via my home WiFi without having the dataplan through my provider?
Forums Veteran I
Posts: 2,036
Registered: ‎12-04-2008
My Device: 8900

Re: No WiFi without Data Plan

depends on your carrier, I've read that verizon wont even let you buy a bb without a data plan
******************************************************************


If someone helped you give them kudos. Research all info!
Regular Contributor
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎08-06-2008
My Device: Blackberry Bold (9000)

Re: No WiFi without Data Plan

Carrier = T-Mobile USA
Forums Veteran III
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

Re: No WiFi without Data Plan

Let me explain something, its not about the carrier.

 

You can surf the web without dataplan, but only with WiFi .

 

But all the rest of applications on the Blackberry not works if you don't have a dataplan, for example, to setup your mail in the device you need a data plan.

More, www.mobile.blackberry.com is for internet browser, you can't acces from Wifi.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎11-25-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: No WiFi without Data Plan

the bb curve had wifi ? i didn't know that ? Smiley Surprised
Regular Contributor
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎08-06-2008
My Device: Blackberry Bold (9000)

Re: No WiFi without Data Plan

fixxxer1022  well the AT&T  Curve 8310 doesn't have wifi  but the T-Mobile 8320 does have wifi.

 

and Wifi doesn't work with T-Mobile I connect to my home wifi and when I launch the browser tells me I cannot use the internet as I do not have a supported internet plan.

Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-04-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: No WiFi without Data Plan

So Urumilton you are saying that all BlackBerry phones have the ability to access Wi-Fi? Are you sure that it isn't based on the carrier? The BlackBerry phone that I have is through a regional carrier that is very similar to Verizon. I have looked everywhere on my phone and there is no way, that I can see, that I would be able to get on to Wi-Fi. While a friends BlackBerry that is on AT&T has the ability to get on to Wi-Fi.

 

I am going to have to disagree with you, and say that it is based on the carrier. That's just based on what I have seen with my phone. If I am wrong could you please tell me how I would be able to access Wi-Fi. I would like to take advantage of this feature. Thanks