Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-21-2013
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Vodacom
Accepted Solution

No dot on I

Please help! First my Torch 9800 and now my Bold 9900 (devices were switched) show no dot on the letter 'i' when looking at the screen. The receiver of emails see an upside down question mark. I have used another SIM to test whether the problem was there and removed my memory card, it is not. This is a programming issue? I have removed all app world applications that I downloaded but still no difference. I believe the problem started on the Torch and could have been transferred to the Bold. My service provider suggested I format the phone completely but I am hesitant as I do not want to lose all ringtones and more. How do I fix this, please assist?

Elite II
Posts: 7,974
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: BSNL

Re: No dot on I

Hi Karin1E

 

 

Welcome to BlackBerry Support Forums

 

 

Sounds like harware isuue but having the same issue on both device s confuss me , So rather then reseting your phone I prefer you should try a clean OS relaod , But before that do a backup of your device using BlackBerry Desktop Software , check this article :

 

KB12487 :  How  backup BlackBerry smartphone Data using BlackBerry desktop software for Windows

 

Once Backup is done try a Clean OS reload :

 

KB11320 :How to perform a clean reload of the BlackBerry Device software using BlackBerry desktop software for windows

 

Please try those steps and let us know of your progress.

___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.
Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,077
Registered: ‎04-23-2012
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: Bharti-Airtel

Re: No dot on I

Hi Karin,

 

This issue seems related to the setting you have done in you device, which has been done same in Bold 9900. Please follow below steps..

On the home screen or in a folder, click the Options icon.

Click Typing and Language > Typing.

For a keyboard, do one of the following:

To turn off all typing assistance, change the Style field to Direct.

To set your smartphone to suggest word predictions as you type, change the Style field to Predictive.

Press the BB key > Save.

 

 

 

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-21-2013
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Vodacom

Re: No dot on I

Hi! Thank you for your speedy reply. I did what you suggested, the setting was on 'Direct' but I changed it to "Predictive' and then back to 'Direct' again. I then rebooted. Unfortunately it did not solve the problem! But I really appreciate you trying to help! Any other suggestions? (My next step is now to reload the OS, as was also suggested.)

Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,077
Registered: ‎04-23-2012
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: Bharti-Airtel

Re: No dot on I

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-21-2013
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Vodacom

Re: No dot on I

So I changed the input language from English UK to English. And now my Is have dots!

THANK YOU so much!