Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-18-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Not able to browse internet via GPRS or EDGE on blackberry 9000

Dear,

 

I'm not able to browse internet using the Packet data network. The browser (HotSpot Browser) on the handset reports that it only could be used along with Wifi. On the other hand, There are no other available browser in the advanced options like an internet browser or something else. I work for a mobile operator, and I know that we do not have any blackberry data plan. So how can I proceed from here? Please advise

pOw
Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Not able to browse internet via GPRS or EDGE on blackberry 9000

If youre data plan is through your company you need to set up the blackberry enterprise server. Go to the bold website for help on how do to this.
Forums Veteran III
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

Re: Not able to browse internet via GPRS or EDGE on blackberry 9000

You need the blackberry data plan to surf on the web, and to use any application that require internet access, like blackberry messenger, blackberry maps, etc.

 

Without the data plan, your phone is available for calls, SMS, and to surf under WIFI  

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-18-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Not able to browse internet via GPRS or EDGE on blackberry 9000

Dear,

 

I saw that I should subscribe to Blackberry data plan. I am currently the operator himself Smiley Happy so how can i do that for my clients. Actually I mean how to get this kind of subscription. Should I contact my carrier?

Forums Veteran III
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

Re: Not able to browse internet via GPRS or EDGE on blackberry 9000

Can you tell me which is your Carrier and where?

if you go to your carrier web page, can you log n on your account?, if yes go to the blackberry setup mail account and resend the service books. 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-18-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Not able to browse internet via GPRS or EDGE on blackberry 9000

My carrier is france telecom
Forums Veteran III
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

Re: Not able to browse internet via GPRS or EDGE on blackberry 9000

And you have an account in the web page ?

Which Country?

France Telecom is Orange right? 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,078
Registered: ‎05-26-2008
My Device: 8300

Re: Not able to browse internet via GPRS or EDGE on blackberry 9000

Hello,

 

To get a Browser working using the Mobile network you will need to get either:

 

a) A Blackberry data plan through your carrier (BES or BIS). This will allow you to get either Blackberry Browser or Internet Browser.

b) WAP access - In Australia the option appears as "Telstra Busiiness Portal" . i would imagine that it would be something similar in other countries.

 

If you dont have a wifi connection then "Hotspot browser" wont work...

 

Hope that helps!



Checked out my Blackberry FAQ's and Links to Needed Articles here
http://darkeen.homelinux.com/index.php/Blackberryfaq
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-18-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Not able to browse internet via GPRS or EDGE on blackberry 9000

Dear,

 

I am at the carrier (im at the support) i need to initialize such a data plan. I have no clue on how to do this. I have to add that I neither have something else than the hotspot browser in the browser selection, and there's nothing in the host routing tables. Any advice?