Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-10-2013
My Device: curve 9220
My Carrier: airtel

PROBLEM WITH DESKTOP SOFTWARE WINDOWS 7 64BIT

 
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-10-2013
My Device: curve 9220
My Carrier: airtel

Re: PROBLEM WITH DESKTOP SOFTWARE WINDOWS 7 64BIT

Windows ® Installer. V 5.0.7601.17514

msiexec /Option <Required Parameter> [Optional Parameter]

Install Options
    </package | /i> <Product.msi>
        Installs or configures a product
    /a <Product.msi>
        Administrative install - Installs a product on the network
    /j<u|m> <Product.msi> [/t <Transform List>] [/g <Language ID>]
        Advertises a product - m to all users, u to current user
    </uninstall | /x> <Product.msi | ProductCode>
        Uninstalls the product
Display Options
    /quiet
        Quiet mode, no user interaction
    /passive
        Unattended mode - progress bar only
    /q[n|b|r|f]
        Sets user interface level
        n - No UI
        b - Basic UI
        r - Reduced UI
        f - Full UI (default)
    /help
        Help information
Restart Options
    /norestart
        Do not restart after the installation is complete
    /promptrestart
        Prompts the user for restart if necessary
    /forcerestart
        Always restart the computer after installation
Logging Options
    /l[i|w|e|a|r|u|c|m|o|p|v|x|+|!|*] <LogFile>
        i - Status messages
        w - Nonfatal warnings
        e - All error messages
        a - Start up of actions
        r - Action-specific records
        u - User requests
        c - Initial UI parameters
        m - Out-of-memory or fatal exit information
        o - Out-of-disk-space messages
        p - Terminal properties
        v - Verbose output
        x - Extra debugging information
        + - Append to existing log file
        ! - Flush each line to the log
        * - Log all information, except for v and x options
    /log <LogFile>
        Equivalent of /l* <LogFile>
Update Options
    /update <Update1.msp>[;Update2.msp]
        Applies update(s)
    /uninstall <PatchCodeGuid>[;Update2.msp] /package <Product.msi | ProductCode>
        Remove update(s) for a product
Repair Options
    /f[p|e|c|m|s|o|d|a|u|v] <Product.msi | ProductCode>
        Repairs a product
        p - only if file is missing
        o - if file is missing or an older version is installed (default)
        e - if file is missing or an equal or older version is installed
        d - if file is missing or a different version is installed
        c - if file is missing or checksum does not match the calculated value
        a - forces all files to be reinstalled
        u - all required user-specific registry entries (default)
        m - all required computer-specific registry entries (default)
        s - all existing shortcuts (default)
        v - runs from source and recaches local package
Setting Public Properties
    [PROPERTY=PropertyValue]

Consult the Windows ® Installer SDK for additional documentation on the
command line syntax.

Copyright © Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
Portions of this software are based in part on the work of the Independent JPEG Group.

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,634
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: PROBLEM WITH DESKTOP SOFTWARE WINDOWS 7 64BIT

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

I'm sorry, but from what you've so far posted, I cannot at all tell what the "problem" is that you are having. Please provide descriptive details of what you are attempting along with specific results from the attempts, including the exact and complete content of any error messages presented.

Thanks and let us know!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-10-2013
My Device: curve 9220
My Carrier: airtel

Re: PROBLEM WITH DESKTOP SOFTWARE WINDOWS 7 64BIT

I have downloaded the desktop software of 113.86 mb when I am installing it the above error message of windows installer is showing. I have copy pasted the error report earlier.
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,634
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: PROBLEM WITH DESKTOP SOFTWARE WINDOWS 7 64BIT

I've never seen that reported by anyone before...and it doesn't actually read like an error message. Rather, it reads like the /help or /? operand on many command line executables...for it seems to simply list the available parameters to use when executing whatever it was that you executed. Within what you pasted, I see nothing that hints of an actual error message indication of any kind.

And I'm concerned that perhaps you didn't download the proper thing...while the latest version I see is ~113/114mb (116,596 to be precise), I'm concerned about what you may have downloaded, what it actually is, whether you have the compete file, and how you are actually using it.

Can you provide more details? The filename? The exact file size? The location you downloaded from? The method you are using to execute the file? Other details that might help?

Thanks and let us know!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-10-2013
My Device: Blackberry 9550
My Carrier: Movilnet Venezuela

Re: PROBLEM WITH DESKTOP SOFTWARE WINDOWS 7 64BIT

[ Edited ]

ENGLISH:

 

SOLVED: Hi, here's the fix. I've had this problem since Version 5 and it's the same problem in each of the versions. In Setup.ini, RIM put this line:

 

CmdLine=/l*v %TEMP%\BB_Desktop.log SETUPEXEFLAG=1

 

See where the problem is? %TEMP% could have spaces in it. Thus the install bombs out. To correct, edit line to look like this:

 

CmdLine=/l*v "%TEMP%\BB_Desktop.log" SETUPEXEFLAG=1

 

Or

 

CmdLine=/l*v C:\Windows\Temp\\BB_Desktop.log" SETUPEXEFLAG=1

 

...Cheers from Ciudad Bolivar - Venezuela

 

P.S. I appreciate if you tell us about your experience using this solution.

 

 

ESPAÑOL:

 

RESUELTO: Hola, aquí está la solución. He tenido este problema ya que desde la versión 5 es el mismo problema en cada una de las versiones. En el archivo SETUP.INI, RIM colocó esta línea:

 

CmdLine=/l*v %TEMP%\BB_Desktop.log SETUPEXEFLAG=1

 

¿Ya ven dónde está el problema? %TEMP% podría tener espacios en él. Así que la instalación estalla. Para corregirlo, editen la línea para que se parezca a ésta:

 

CmdLine=/l*v "%TEMP%\BB_Desktop.log" SETUPEXEFLAG=1

 

ó también

 

CmdLine=/l*v C:\Windows\Temp\\BB_Desktop.log" SETUPEXEFLAG=1

 

...Saludos desde Ciudad Bolivar - Venezuela

 

P.D. Aprecio si nos cuentas acerca de tu experiencia utilizando esta solución.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-10-2013
My Device: curve 9220
My Carrier: airtel

Re: PROBLEM WITH DESKTOP SOFTWARE WINDOWS 7 64BIT

Problem solved. I was really wierd problem. Thank you so much!!

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-10-2013
My Device: Blackberry 9550
My Carrier: Movilnet Venezuela

Re: PROBLEM WITH DESKTOP SOFTWARE WINDOWS 7 64BIT

[ Edited ]

I'm glad to know that! You know, it also fixes the problem with Windows 7 32 bits... By the way, thank you for giving my first kudo!

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,634
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: PROBLEM WITH DESKTOP SOFTWARE WINDOWS 7 64BIT


iramjm24 wrote:

ENGLISH:

 

SOLVED: Hi, here's the fix. I've had this problem since Version 5 and it's the same problem in each of the versions. In Setup.ini, RIM put this line:

 

CmdLine=/l*v %TEMP%\BB_Desktop.log SETUPEXEFLAG=1

 

See where the problem is? %TEMP% could have spaces in it. Thus the install bombs out. To correct, edit line to look like this:

 

CmdLine=/l*v "%TEMP%\BB_Desktop.log" SETUPEXEFLAG=1

 

Or

 

CmdLine=/l*v C:\Windows\Temp\\BB_Desktop.log" SETUPEXEFLAG=1

 

...Cheers from Ciudad Bolivar - Venezuela

 

P.S. I appreciate if you tell us about your experience using this solution.

 

 


 

Hello...that indeed is an excellent find! But, could you perhaps provide more information about it? Given that what users download is an EXE file, how exactly are they supposed to access and edit the Setup.INI file? If others are to use this solution, then specifics will be needed so that "average users" can do so.

 

This is very similar to the %userprofile% variable...likewise, if that has spaces, problems can happen with the install...but the fix there is different (logging in as Administrator rather than user account, and then installing for all users).

 

Thanks!

 


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,634
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: PROBLEM WITH DESKTOP SOFTWARE WINDOWS 7 64BIT

Here also is a KB on the matter:

KB19300 Windows Installer command line parameters information box appears when attempting to install BlackBerry Desktop Manager


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................