Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-15-2008
My Device: Curve 8330

Password?

Is there a way you can set a password on your phone?? So no one can get into your contacts, messeges, ect? If so how do you do it and do you need a certain password to make one??

Thanks yall!

Elite I
Posts: 6,269
Registered: ‎10-04-2008
My Device: STORM 9550 Verizon <><

Re: Password?

WelcSmiley Happyme to the FSmiley Happyrums!

 

Yes you can!   Go to Options > Security > General Settings.


Smiley Happy Smiley Happy Nurse-Berry Smiley Happy Smiley Happy
_____________________________________________________________
Follow NurseBerry08 on Twitter
Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Re: Password?

After you reach general settings, then what?
Posts: 95,114
Likes: 24,496
Solutions: 6,376
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Re: Password?

Under the General Settings in Security, the first item should be to enable a password. It is not on yours?


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-15-2008
My Device: Curve 8330

Re: Re: Password?

Can you set one though? Or do you need to have one from the phone or whatever to set it? :s
Posts: 95,114
Likes: 24,496
Solutions: 6,376
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Re: Password?

Yes, you can set one yourself.

 

Look at your BB, as directed above. What is on your screen there?



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-15-2008
My Device: Curve 8330

Re: Re: Password?

It says enable/disable?

If I enable it though can I just set one? Or does there net to be one I have to use befor I can set it?

Posts: 95,114
Likes: 24,496
Solutions: 6,376
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Re: Password?

Click on enable and set your password. If there is already a PW on the device, you must know it first. If you have never set a PW on the device, just set one.


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎11-15-2008
My Device: Curve 8330

Re: Re: Password?

Ok well I'm afraid to do that because they never gave me a pin to use or whatever... What if it says I need one?
Posts: 95,114
Likes: 24,496
Solutions: 6,376
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Re: Password?


albinomegan wrote:
Ok well I'm afraid to do that because they never gave me a pin to use or whatever... What if it says I need one?

They? Who is "they"?

 

The password will be whatever YOU set it to be.

 

Yea, if you can't remember the password you set, I advise you not to set one.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code