Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-09-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Problem with Contact List

Easy solution:
Open your contacts
Press menu -> Options
Type rset
Select yes for the contact lists you want to delete - Warning - this is highly destructive...

Now - I need to find out how to rename my "Unknown" list...
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-27-2011
My Device: Bold 9000
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Problem with Contact List

Yep that worked

Going to Contacts/Menu/Optionsamd typing rset, allowed me to get rid of the empty list!

 

Thanks

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-14-2011
My Device: bold 9000
My Carrier: vofafone

Re: Problem with Contact List

I have a different issue in that I have 4 contact lists, 2 called desktop and 2 called unknown. Problem is all my contacts are in one of the unknown and when I have tried to use Google sync to transfer to my gmail account, it doesn't read the unknown list.

 

How can I get them into a desktop one that it will read and transfer. I have no access to desktop manager as this is a work phone and for some reason I can't access desktop manager

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-07-2011
My Device: Curve 9320
My Carrier: GiffGaff (O2 UK)

Re: Problem with Contact List

I had this problem until tonight.

 

I connected my BB to my laptop, opening BB Desktop Software.

 

I had one address book named Default, which had one contact in, and the other called Unknown, which had the rest of my contacts in.

 

I clicked Device, Delete Data, found the Default address book with one contact in and deleted it. 

 

Then I backed up the Unknown address book, and deleted Unknown and Address Book, restarted my phone, then restored the Unknown address book, and restarted my phone again.

 

This has worked. I no longer have 2 address books and the address book is renamed to Default again with all my contacts in!

 

I hope this works for you.

Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-25-2013
My Device: Curve 9220
My Carrier: Vodafone IN

Re: Problem with Contact List

Use advance os led app. Trial or pro, it helped be with a lot of things including this issue
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-23-2013
My Device: 9790
My Carrier: Vodacom

Re: Problem with Contact List

To delete a Contact List, on your Blackberry Desktop, select CONTACTS; then select the MENU button; then OPTIONS; then type rset.

Now if you have multiple Contact Lists, the one of them will be selected now first saying something about synchronization is anabled or now, but will ask if you want to Wipe it anyway - 

If that is the one you want to wipe, select YES (or else simply select NO)

Once the option for that one is selected, it will progress to the next Contact List and so forth asking which you want to delete.

Once done, select MENU button and close.

Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎07-14-2014
My Device: Q10 and 9300
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Problem with Contact List

This method of deleting a contact database (by using BB Desktop Software on your computer - then Device - Delete Data - Select items) is FAR SUPERIOR to the other method (by going into Contacts - Options - typing "rset" - then clicking "yes" to delete).  Thank you so much for highlighting it!!!

 

The latter method (which I first tried) deleted the wrong contacts database and I actually lost most of my data.  Such terrible software design by Blackberry!!!!