Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: 8830 - Verizon

Putting 8GB card in OS 4.2.2

Does anyone know what would happen if I put an 8GB in my BB 8830 now with only OS 4.2.2 while I wait for 4.5 to come out? I was told you needed OS 4.3 or later to use an 8GB card but it is not out for the 8830 yet.
Elite II
Posts: 9,321
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: grameenphone

Re: Putting 8GB card in OS 4.2.2

Max. Media Support depends on the version of device OS that you're using.

 

BlackBerry Device Software                         Media Card Size Limit

BlackBerry Device Software 4.2.0                         Up to 2GB

BlackBerry Device Software 4.2.1                         Up to 4GB

BlackBerry Device Software 4.2.2                         Up to 4GB

BlackBerry Device Software 4.3.0                         Up to 8GB

 

All are microSD.

tanzim                                                                                  
If your query is resolved then please click on Accept as Solution

Click on the LIKE on the bottom right if the post deserves credit

New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: 8830 - Verizon

Re: Putting 8GB card in OS 4.2.2

What happens if I put an 8GB in?  Will it at least recognize 4GB now and when I upgrade to 4.5 recognize 8GB.  Or will it not work at all.
Developer
Posts: 507
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Putting 8GB card in OS 4.2.2

It should be recognized anyway. But you can format it only on 4 GB volume.
----------------
if your issue solved set "Solution" mark at the relevant post
Super Contributor
Posts: 396
Registered: ‎08-03-2008
My Device: Blackberry 9530

Re: Putting 8GB card in OS 4.2.2


rafo wrote:
It should be recognized anyway. But you can format it only on 4 GB volume.

 

True, it will only recognize it up to the 4GB size.  Once you upgrade the OS you will get all 8GB.
__________________________________________________________________
John
Stevie Ray! 1954-1990

** Don't forget to resolve your post with the accepted solution.
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-26-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Re: Putting 8GB card in OS 4.2.2

You do not have to have 4.3. I have 4.2.2.196 (downloaded from Verizons site) and I run my 8 gig just fine.
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: 8830 - Verizon

Re: Putting 8GB card in OS 4.2.2

I have that version of the software on my BB, so if I put in a 8GB micro chip it will recognize the whole thing?