Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-18-2012
My Device: Torch 9810 (RIM Unlocked)
My Carrier: Rogers

RIM Purchased Torch 9810 will not do HSPA / HAPA+

I have been calling Rogers, searching the net for some answer on why my phone will only do 3G.

 

Under the mobil network settings I have 3 options "2G", "3G", "3G & 2G"  No H or H+ options.

This was the same with the original rom provided with the phone 7.0.???, and with the 7.1 release.

 

I am not sure if certain fetures are turned off becuase it has a Vendor ID of 612.  (I am not sure if those carriers actually support H/H+.

 

When I run a Diagnostic test, I have the following:

Radio Access: UMTS

Network: Rogers

 

I have verfied this from many locations withing Ottawa, Canada which Rogers supports HSPA+

 

If I cannot use H+ due to the Vendor Id I would be very disappointed.  I am hoping that someone can explain this, or even better have a solution.

 

Thanks,

Shawn

Retired
Posts: 3,246
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: RIM Purchased Torch 9810 will not do HSPA / HAPA+

Hello srissman and welcome to the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

 

Did you purchase your BlackBerry from Rogers directly or from another source and unlocked it for usage on Rogers?

 

If it was unlocked, then this would explain why you aren't getting the HSPA network as network availability is determined by each mobile carrier and the software on the device. Since the device isn't branded to Rogers you can't install software from Rogers to the device which would be needed to use all supported features of the carrier network.

 

Hope this helps to answer your question.

-HMthePirate

 

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-18-2012
My Device: Torch 9810 (RIM Unlocked)
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: RIM Purchased Torch 9810 will not do HSPA / HAPA+

So odd reason I didn't get notification of your response, then I got busy and forgot I posted

 

Rogers just releases 7.1 of their OS and I have installed this (I had to remove the vendor.xml files so it can be detected via the DM).  I still only have the 2G/3G setting and not HAPA/HSPA+.  Kinda annoying if it is the result of buying a RIM unbranded (unlocked) phone it doesn't seem to be worth it anymore.

 

I have to say though, I do love the phone Smiley Happy

 

I purchased the phone directly from RIM via the employee program (my wife).

 

So if there is any other ideas or if anyone knows if the vendor id has anything to do with it.

 

Any ideas?

 

Vendor ID: 612

7.1.0.391 (1310)

3G Bands 1,2,5,6

 

Thanks,

 

 

Retired
Posts: 3,246
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: RIM Purchased Torch 9810 will not do HSPA / HAPA+

Ah, an employee purchase device. 

 

Since this device wasn't branded to Rogers then it will not have all the features as a branded device would.

 

Hope that answers your question.

-HMthePirate

 

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-12-2011
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: RIM Purchased Torch 9810 will not do HSPA / HAPA+

So what your saying is that anyone who is in this boat is out of luck ?

Does the lack of hte H+ mean that it really isn't using the so called faster version of 3G ?  or just that it isn't showing it ? 

Guru III
Posts: 32,116
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: RIM Purchased Torch 9810 will not do HSPA / HAPA+

do a test with this app to see how fast it is

http://appworld.blackberry.com/webstore/content/65259/?lang=en

 

3g 653kbps down 100k up with only 3 bars

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V