Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

My Device: Not Specified

Receiving email on a Storm

I'm a relative newbie with smartphones and had an email question.  Can I receive email from my regular comcast email account on the Storm?  When I activate the Storm with Verizon, will I need an email account from BB or Verizon for outgoing mail?  Will I be able to pick up mail sent to the Storm on my desktop?  IE: I send an email from the Storm then get back to the office.  Can I set up an account in Outlook Express to pickup a response to the email I just sent on the Storm.

Ideally I would be able to send an email from the office using my comcast account, then check that account throughout the day from the Storm, receive a response from that email and respond to it from the Storm.  Now I get back to the office and instead of receiving the response the that email sent on the Storm on the Storm, I want to just pick it up on my PC using Outlook Express.

It's hard to desribe but I guess what I'm asking is if the Storm can be used as an extension to the PC or does everything that happens on the storm stay on the Storm?

Please feel free to suggest a better alternative.  Like I said, I have no experience with smartphones, so my purchase decision is based on reviews.  I wish the data plan were not mandatory, but I suppose that's why I'm looking at this phone in the first place.  If I go through a spell where I'm not needing mobile web for a period of time, I suppose I can always just go back to my old phone during that time.

Thanks in advance for any help...

Solutions: 6,361
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Receiving email on a Storm

Greetings, and welcome to the BlackBerry.com Support Forums.