Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-10-2011
My Device: curve 8520
My Carrier: Orange
Accepted Solution

Reinstall Blackberry Bridge

Hi, 

after uninstall blackberry bridge on my smartphone,  I can not reinstall it, I don´t have that option. I need help!

Thank you very much

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,218
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAF518), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Reinstall Blackberry Bridge

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

I suggest that you clear the AppWorld application cache:

1. Open App World

2. Go to My World

3a. For keyboard-based BB's -- Hold down the ALT key and then press, in sequence R, then S, then T

3b. For Touch Screen Only BBs -- Hold the num-lock (!?123) button so it locks and then press, in sequence 3, then 4, then (

4. If your BB locks after issuing the cache clear, perform a battery pull reboot

5. Return to AppWorld. Log into MyWorld (if applicable) and try again.

Hopefully it'll work for you! Good luck and let us know!



Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-10-2011
My Device: curve 8520
My Carrier: Orange

Re: Reinstall Blackberry Bridge

Great!!!!!!! Perfect. Thanks a lot

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,218
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAF518), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Reinstall Blackberry Bridge

You are most welcome...enjoy!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-25-2011
My Device: BB Bold 9700
My Carrier: etissalat

Re: Reinstall Blackberry Bridge

hey,
i did this step for my bb bold 9700 when i accidently uninstalled my blackberry protect app but now it gives me: not available for this device Smiley Sad
any help?
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-08-2012
My Device: BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: None

Re: Reinstall Blackberry Bridge

I had tried all the other remedies and this one is the one that worked for my 8530 & PB situation. Thank you for the info.