06-30-2010 03:52 PM
I have users who has been deleting emails too quickly and the server wasn't configured to track permanently deleted emails (it is now). Now their inbox is a mess and I want to sync it with the server and clean up all the emails that are no longer on the server mailbox.
They have a reset feature for the Contacts and the Calendar, so why not for Email? Unless there is, but I have not found any way to do so. I cannot do a wipe, because they have information and text messages that cannot be lost (and I'm not looking for way to back them up and then wipe).
I have tried removing the Desktop service books and reactivating, but that doesn't do it. I have tried removing the service books, then deleting emails and reactivating, but that has negative results (the emails remain removed on the handheld).
Please help, thanks.
BlackBerry Enterprise Server Express 126.96.36.199 (Build 5)
BlackBerry Box 9650
06-30-2010 11:41 PM - edited 06-30-2010 11:42 PM
but that has negative results (the emails remain removed on the handheld).
Hi and Welcome to the Forums!
I'm sorry, I'm a little confused. They remain removed on the HH? Isn't that what you are trying to accomplish? Let me restate what I read your post to be.
Does that about sum it up? If so, then if what I quoted above is true, what is the problem now? I'm sure I'm not understanding.
Have you tried "Delete Prior" on the HH?
Let us know!
07-01-2010 08:50 AM
What I meant was that the emails that were permanently deleted (not put into other folders, but put into the deleted items folder and emptied, or shift-deleted), are the only ones I want removed from their handhelds. When I removed the desktop server books, and then deleted some emails that were not permanently deleted, aka they are still in his inbox on his desktop, they remained removed from the handheld once I reactivated. So the handheld remembered that I deleted those emails. So if I just delete all his emails (delete prior) on the handheld, none of the emails currently in the inbox will come back on reactivation.
My main question still remains, is there a way to reset the inbox, just like there are ways to reset the Calendar and Contacts?
Thanks for the response. Hopefully this clears it up.
07-01-2010 04:23 PM
Well, sort of...with perhaps one clarification. By default, there is no configuration for a BB that is intended to replicate the users mailbox onto the BB. Rather, the default settings are to begin delivering, upon activation, newly arriving emails to the BB. Under BES, one can configure some settings to bring in some history, but those would have had to have been turned on prior. Further, from your description, it sounds like those were not activated. Consequently, rather than "the handheld remembered that I deleted those emails", it is more likely that the settings that would bring some old emails down were simply not activated.
Hence, the way to "reset" the on-device inbox is to remove the device from BES and stop delivery, delete (on the HH) all prior messages, and then re-activate to start delivery again. No old emails will come down unless those settings are active in BES. Actually, a cleaner method might be, rather than deleting prior, to do a WIPE on the HH while it is not activated on BES...likely will recover more AppMemory for the user. Then, upon re-activation, calendar and contacts will be re-synchronized and new emails will begin to deliver.
Hope that helps!