Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-23-2009
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Restore factory Defaults - Blackberry Bold

I have purchased a new 8900, and want to give my wife my old Bold. I previously used it on an Enterprise Server through my employer, and the phone now has all of the security settings etc. associated with the old enterprise server.

 

I have looked everywhere, but can't find a way to completely wip the phone clean, and restore all of the original factory defaults, so my wife can use it.

 

Does anyone have any thoughts??

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,612
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Restore factory Defaults - Blackberry Bold

Hi and Welcome to the Forums!

 

Here is a procedure that wipes it truly clean, including removing the IT Policy:

  • KB18998 How to reset a BlackBerry smartphone to factory defaults

 

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-23-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Restore factory Defaults - Blackberry Bold

Worked perfectly - you just saved me about 2 days worth of hassle. IT wanted me to switch back to the old device so they could send me a new policy (would have taken 3 days), and then switch back to the new device.

 

Thanks so much for your help. Cheers.

Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-04-2010
My Device: 9000
My Carrier: optus

Re: Restore factory Defaults - Blackberry Bold

You can reset your black berry just to reset the setting or you can erase the data on it to.

 

To reset device: http://www.itjungles.com/blackberry-tips/blackberry-bold-how-to-hard-reset-blackberry-bold-9000-seri...

 

To erase data: http://www.itjungles.com/blackberry-tips/blackberry-bold-how-to-delete-all-the-data.

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-29-2010
My Device: Bold9000

Re: Restore factory Defaults - Blackberry Bold

[ Edited ]

Just a quick 'thanks' to sdgardne for posting the link on how to restore factory defaults.

Highlighted
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,612
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Restore factory Defaults - Blackberry Bold

 


BoldBlackJack wrote:

Just a quick 'thanks' to sdgardne for posting the link on how to restore factory defaults.


You are most welcome! And welcome to the Forums!

 


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-14-2010
My Device: bold 9650
My Carrier: metropcs

Re: Restore factory Defaults - Blackberry Bold

i have a blackberry bold connected to metropcs if i reset it to factory will i have to take it back to a metropcs office to get it connected again?

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,612
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Restore factory Defaults - Blackberry Bold

 


keos190 wrote:

i have a blackberry bold connected to metropcs if i reset it to factory will i have to take it back to a metropcs office to get it connected again?


 

Maybe, maybe not. I don't know that carriers policies and procedures. For VZW, there is a dialing string (*228) that users can use to re-register their BB onto the VZW network (if there is a problem). I've no idea if your carrier has the same requirements nor capabilities...you'd have to ask them.

 

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-14-2010
My Device: bold 9650
My Carrier: metropcs

Re: Restore factory Defaults - Blackberry Bold

k ill find out i guess.........i hope am not asking to many questions but my phone is displaying a message that said: "uncaught exception 4 > = 4" what does this mean or how do i fix it? thank for your help

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,612
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Restore factory Defaults - Blackberry Bold

 


keos190 wrote:

k ill find out i guess.........i hope am not asking to many questions but my phone is displaying a message that said: "uncaught exception 4 > = 4" what does this mean or how do i fix it? thank for your help


Hi there!

 

There's pretty much no diagnosing those -- they are the equivalent of the random errors in Windows for which tracing the root cause is fruitless. Basically, these are the last out in the programming code -- some event occurred for which there is no handler in the code. The fix is a code update that handles the event...but, again, knowing what the event is is pretty much impossible. So, there are a few things to try:

 

Sometimes, the code simply becomes corrupt and needs to be refreshed -- just like a reboot:

  • Anytime random strange behavior or sluggishness creeps in, the first thing to do is a battery pop reboot. With power ON, remove the back cover and pull out the battery. Wait about a minute then replace the battery and cover. Power up and wait patiently through the long reboot -- ~5 minutes. See if things have returned to good operation. Like all computing devices, BB's suffer from memory leaks and such...with a hard reboot being the best cure.

 

There might be an updated code set from the carrier -- check them via this portal:

 

The toughest possible cause is a badly behaving app. To find it, there are a couple of options. One is to see if you can read the log file:

Go to the home screen. Hold down the alt key and type 'lglg'. (You will not see anything while you type).This will bring up the log file. Scroll down (probably many pages) untill you see a line that says 'uncaught execption'. Click on this line. The name of the app will be in the info. Alternative methods for bringing up the logs are in this KB:

 

  • KB05349How to enable, access, and extract the event logs on a BlackBerry smartphone

 


The other method is to remove apps one at a time, waiting a while in between (I usually recommend a week), until the problem ceases...thereby discovering the offending app.

 

Good luck and let us know!

 


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................