Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-30-2010
My Device: 9700
My Carrier: vodafone nz

Sick of wifi not working

I think its absolutely ridiculous that there are so many cases of people 9700 Wifi not working. and no fix yet.

Im starting to think the devices is faulty

If I had known that I would never be able to connect to the internet i would have never bought this !@# phone.

 

ANYWAY

Has anyone got a fix for this.

i dont want to hear change ur setting blah blah blah. i have tried everything.

I dont want to hear change your router settings as i also want to connect to wifi at the university i work at.

I can connect fine with my old nokia and my itouch... but for whatever reason i cant connect with the BB...

 

 

 

Guru III
Posts: 32,190
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Sick of wifi not working


harrybarakat wrote:

I think its absolutely ridiculous that there are so many cases of people 9700 Wifi not working. and no fix yet.

Im starting to think the devices is faulty

If I had known that I would never be able to connect to the internet i would have never bought this !@# phone.

 

ANYWAY

Has anyone got a fix for this.

i dont want to hear change ur setting blah blah blah. i have tried everything.

I dont want to hear change your router settings as i also want to connect to wifi at the university i work at.

I can connect fine with my old nokia and my itouch... but for whatever reason i cant connect with the BB...

 

 

 


with being able to hange any settings, I dont know how to help you.

 

maybe its just a conspiracy.

 

do you have a BlackBerry data plan? Can you surf with 3G?

 

Which default browser are you using?

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-30-2010
My Device: 9700
My Carrier: vodafone nz

Re: Sick of wifi not working

no i dont have a data pack, but it shouldnt need a data pack to connect to a wifi network...

i can surf fine when im using 3g but thats quite expensive here.

The problem is the phone isnt able to set its self an ip address

ive tried pluggin in an ip address and making a static one on my home router but that has failed aswell

any ideas?

thank you

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Sick of wifi not working

 


harrybarakat wrote:

"Has anyone got a fix for this."

"ANYWAY"

"i dont want to hear change ur setting blah blah blah. i have tried everything.

I dont want to hear change your router settings as i also want to connect to wifi at the university i work at."


 

Hi and welcome to the forums!
Is reading OK ?
Use the Wi-Fi Diagnostics tool
Bifocals


 





 

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-30-2010
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Orange UK

Re: Sick of wifi not working

[ Edited ]

Guys, can you spot what's wrong in the diagnostics below?

DNS should be obtained automatically, but primary DNS doesn't seem right.

 

Wi-Fi
Current Profile:
SSID: virgin_broadband123
AP MAC Address: ***hidden***
Security Type: Pre-Shared Key (PSK)
Association: Successful
Authentication: Successful
Local IP Address: 192.168.0.3
Signal Level: -45 dBm
Connection Data Rate: 48 Mbps
Status: Network acquired
Authentication Failure Reason:
Network Type: 802.11b/g
Network Channel: 11
Pairwise Cipher: TKIP
Group Cipher: TKIP
Gateway Address: 192.168.0.1
DHCP: Successful
Primary DNS: 192.168.0.1
Secondary DNS: 0.0.0.0
DNS suffix:
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Server Domain Suffix:
Certificate:  Not Applicable
Software Token: Not Applicable
Hotspot Code:
Hotspot Message:  Not Applicable
Hotspot Status:  Not Applicable

VPN
Current Profile:
Concentrator Address:
Contact:  N/A
Authentication: N/A
Secure Device IP:
Status: VPN profile is not found.
Resolving Concentrator: N/A
Concentrator IP:
Primary DNS:
Secondary DNS:
DNS Suffix:
Secure Subnet Mask:
Retry at:
Session Lifetime:
Re-login at:
Failed Login Attempts: 0
Certificate: Not Applicable
Software Token:

BlackBerry Infrastructure
Address Used: //rcp.eu.blackberry.com:443
IP Used:
Connecting: Error
Authenticating router: N/A
Authenticating server: N/A
Last Contact At:

New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-30-2010
My Device: 9700
My Carrier: vodafone nz

Re: Sick of wifi not working

hey

 

the only thing that seems strange is...

status:  Ip address no longer valid

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Sick of wifi not working

[ Edited ]

Hi aidas and welcome to the forums!

 

My settings match yours with the exception of the highlighted fields.

I would suggest the DNS lookup and ping test functions in the WiFi diagnostics.

Please check the link  Configuration settings for Wi-Fi profiles

Thanks,

 

Bifocals

 

 

EDIT:  I forgot this article: Firewall and connection requirements for access to the BlackBerry Infrastructure using Wi-Fi technol...


 

BlackBerry Infrastructure

Address Used: //rcp.eu.blackberry.com:443 IP Usedxxx.x.xxx.xx:443,xxxxx

Connecting: Error Successful

Authenticating router: N/A   Successful

Authenticating server: N/A   Successful

Last Contact At:    Oct 30, 2010 17:11



Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

Elite I
Posts: 6,657
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Sick of wifi not working

[ Edited ]

You might also want to check to see if you have any browser/wifi service books.  Go to Options > Advanced Options > Service Book and see if you have two wifi ones that say "Wi-Fi TCP/IP Browser [BrowserConfig]" and "Wi-Fi TCP/IP Transport [WPTCP]."

 

Note, without a data plan, you might not have these required service books and that could be the source of your problem.


If you want to thank someone for their comment, do so by clicking the Thumbs Up icon.

If your issue is resolved, don't forget to click the Solution button on the resolution!

New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-30-2010
My Device: 9700
My Carrier: vodafone nz

Re: Sick of wifi not working

yep i have those service books, ive tried everything on these forums. and nothings worked, it just wont accept an ip address, ive even tried to set an ip address and match it on the router and nothing stil... i dont get it.

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-08-2010
My Device: Bold 9700

Re: Sick of wifi not working

Not sure if you solved this yet, but I got the 9700 for my wife yesterday and we had the same problem. The fix for our case was simple, if not counter intuitive:after checking various forums, all I needed to do was: Options -> Mobile Network -> Data Services -> On (have not verified if I needed While Roaming to be On also).

 

Yes it was my fault for turning it off in the first place thinking I wanted to ensure that only wifi was used for data traffic. But I have to say to the dev/design folks at RIM: a master switch that determines whether or not data traffic is allowed shouldn't be under "Mobile Network", especially considering you support data traffic via wifi in your devices.

 

All in all, we're happy with the 9700 though, it's an awesome device.