Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-21-2008
My Device: BB Bold & BB 8900

Software upgrade for BIS

I have a BB Bold 9000 which comes with BES for email services. I want to have the option of BIS. Is there an upgrade from BB that can allow my Black Berry to also have BIS in addition to BES? I understand BES is meant for Corportate use etc. I am an individual business operator. Lastly does BB have a help desk. How do I access it?

 

Cheers,

Popo

Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Digicell

Re: Software upgrade for BIS

You should have a folder called setup in this is email settings. You should have this there is not a BES polocy to disable it
Forums Veteran III
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

Re: Software upgrade for BIS

well, good post.

Can you explain how the Device comes with BES, is a used device?

You have the contract with which carrier?

You have a data plan for blackberry?

Your device comes with a cd, Blackberry Desktop Manager

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-21-2008
My Device: BB Bold & BB 8900

Re: Software upgrade for BIS

I bought the BB in UK brand new unlocked. I am in Africa, Tanzania. The local provider is ZAIN. I have no data plan with BB or any overseas operator. The new BB Bold comes with BES. There is no BIS. Yes the device came with a CD. I have it with me.

Cheers, Popo.

Forums Veteran III
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

Re: Software upgrade for BIS

Let me explain the situation

 

Your device not have BES installed, why are you thinking this?

Without Data plan you have a limited device

Without data plan, you can't surf on the web (only through WiFi), you can't use the blackberry messenger, you can't setup any email.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
Forums Advisor I
Posts: 724
Registered: ‎07-02-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Fido

Re: Software upgrade for BIS

Not even sure wifi would work with no data plan.
Forums Veteran III
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

Re: Software upgrade for BIS

The wifi works without any data plan
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
Elite I
Posts: 6,343
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
My Device: 9800 - OS 6.0.0.246

Re: Software upgrade for BIS

BES or BIS isn't software, just the 2 types of plans that you can choose from.

 

With BIS you can setup up to 10 personal email accounts, browse the internet, and includes unlimited data plan (usually not including text messaging). With this plan your Inbox from your email account syncs with a BlackBerry. All other data has to be synced through a wired connection with the Desktop Manager software. The price for that plan is usually around $30 (depends on your carrier).

 

BES has all of the above with the addition of the ability to setup corporate email on the device. If your employer has a BES (BlackBerry Enterprise Server) all of the data syncs wirelessly to the BlackBerry. The price for that plan is usually around $45 (depends on your carrier)

 

You need a data plan from your carrier to use the BIS or BES services

 

Read this article for the ways to get email on a BlackBerry

http://cell-phones.suite101.com/article.cfm/blackberry_redirector_vs_bis_and_bes

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
If someone has been helpful please consider giving them kudos by clicking the star to the left of their post.
Remember to resolve your thread by clicking Accepted Solution.
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-21-2008
My Device: BB Bold & BB 8900

Re: Software upgrade for BIS

Thanks for all your responses on BIS or BES data plan. Let me ask the following - Does any out there have a BB Bold and and has a BIS set up option and is using BIS. On my BB Bold under email setup there is one email setup option which is BES. With this clarification I shall be able to figure out what to do.

 

Cheers.

Elite I
Posts: 6,343
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
My Device: 9800 - OS 6.0.0.246

Re: Software upgrade for BIS

You get the personal emaill setup choice on your device once you subscribe to the BIS BlackBerry Data Plan. Without the data plan you'll only have the one choice to setup through BES.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
If someone has been helpful please consider giving them kudos by clicking the star to the left of their post.
Remember to resolve your thread by clicking Accepted Solution.