Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Super Contributor
Posts: 266
Registered: ‎03-10-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Sometimes "Enable Multitap" Turns Off...?

Sometimes, I begin typing in the portrait mode and sometimes, the predictive text is enabled, but I have the "Multitap Keyboard" set as a default.

 

How come sometimes I have to hit the "2" three times to get a "C" - but sometimes, the predictive text is selected. I don't understand.

 

Is there a setting that I have to set to turn off this predictive text?

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,602
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Sometimes "Enable Multitap" Turns Off...?

Hi!

 

You've found one of the "fun ones" that is a known issue. See this article for further information:

 

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/search.do?cmd=displayKC&docType=kc&externalId=KB17346

 

 


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Sometimes "Enable Multitap" Turns Off...?

[ Edited ]

sdgardne,

Just happen to stumble on to this thread and read your explanation and appreciate the link that expands my understanding. Known about this issue for a while, but did not have the full perspective gleaned from the link's contents. In my book your help deserves a Kudo.

With appreciation

Richard 

Message Edited by Shaman on 03-23-2009 05:07 PM
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,602
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Sometimes "Enable Multitap" Turns Off...?

/me blushes!

 

You are most welcome...and I can honestly say that I found the answer by searching and finding another long-time member of this board who had posted the link a while back. So, my charge to you is -- pay it forward! But thank's for the Kudo as well! I can't wait till I have enough to cash in and take that lovely vacation!!!   Smiley Tongue


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................