Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎11-21-2010
My Device: Blackberry Leap
My Carrier: Vodafone Netherlands

Sync Torch

PLEASE HELP! In July 2010 the magazine PC World stated that BB Desktop support for Outlook 2010 would come in August 2010. I have the feeling is hasnt come through yet. Why? The moment I start synchronizing, RIM jumps in (why?) and asks if I allow them. I have no choice and allow them in. Now I need to check Calender, Contacts, Memos and Tasks for syncing desktop applications but I have only 3 options: 1 = none, 2 = ASCII import and export and 3 = Yahoo! I have no clue why my needed email provider Office 2010 Outlook is missing in the box. Meaning I am stuck and unable to check and sync any of the 4 categories which really sucks.

How can I possibly add Outlook or what else can I do to solve this problem? Thanks feed-back!

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Sync Torch

Hi and welcome to the forums!

 

You wrote:

"PLEASE HELP! In July 2010 the magazine PC World stated that BB Desktop support for Outlook 2010 would come in August 2010. I have the feeling is hasnt come through yet. Why?"?

 

Because RIM did not say they would release a supported version in August. 2010

 

Here is the RIM KB dated  08-10-2010:  KB17149:

"If you are using a 64-Bit version of Microsoft Outlook 2010 and require support though the BlackBerry Desktop Software, you can work around this by installing the 32-bit version of Microsoft Outlook 2010.

"Support for Microsoft Outlook 2010 64-bit version will be available in 2011."

Thanks,

 

Bifocals 

 



 

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

Posts: 95,488
Likes: 24,539
Solutions: 6,396
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Sync Torch

Well, what version of Outlook 2010 are you using?

 

32-bit or 64-bit?



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎11-21-2010
My Device: Blackberry Leap
My Carrier: Vodafone Netherlands

Re: Sync Torch

32!?

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Sync Torch

 


RonaldJames wrote:

32!?


 

Hi,

 

This was in the link I gave you.

"For information about the differences between the 32-bit and 64-bit versions of Microsoft Office 2010 and Microsoft Outlook, see http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee681792.aspx."

Thanks,

 

Bifocals

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

Posts: 95,488
Likes: 24,539
Solutions: 6,396
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Sync Torch

Ok, good, and you didn't state what version of Desktop Manager you're using.

 

Are you using DM v6, Bundle 47?

 

https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/contactFormPreload.do?code=A8BAA56554F96369AB93E4F3BB068C22&dl=...



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎11-21-2010
My Device: Blackberry Leap
My Carrier: Vodafone Netherlands

Re: Sync Torch

Yes, saw that, thanks but nevertheless 32 is installed already. Another question is why RIM jumps in the moment I start syncing. Why necessary, syncing is an internal thing. Could it be the cause of sync malfunctioning?

Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎11-21-2010
My Device: Blackberry Leap
My Carrier: Vodafone Netherlands

Re: Sync Torch

Yes I do

Highlighted
Posts: 95,488
Likes: 24,539
Solutions: 6,396
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Sync Torch

You're using RIM software, so I would expect it to jump in.

 

Can you explain in detail what you mean about RIM jumping in? I don't understand.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code