Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Bell

Torch 9800 won't connect to Desktop Software

I have been through all the relevant BB Database information on how to deal with the inability of my phone to connect to the Desktop Software.  I have reviewed previous related posts and re-installed the latest Desktop Software.  All to no avail.  Any and all suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Highlighted
Retired
Posts: 3,246
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Torch 9800 won't connect to Desktop Software

Hello wickson and welcome to the BlackBerry® Support Community Forums.

 

Sorry to hear you are experiencing connection issues with your BlackBerry® Torch™ 9800 smartphone.

 

First off, is your BlackBerry in working order or does it display an error?

 

Are you trying to connect to a Mac® or Windows® operating system? 

 

Have you tried more than one USB cord? With another computer? 

 

Thanks!

-HMthePirate

 

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Torch 9800 won't connect to Desktop Software

Hey!  Thanks for the response.  The phone seems to be working well.  The USB cord connects the computer and starts charging the phone.  I am using Windows 7.  I got a suggestion from a sales clerk at Wireless Etc. where I bought the phone and Bell plan and he suggested that I try updating Samsung drivers on my computer.

Retired
Posts: 3,246
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Torch 9800 won't connect to Desktop Software

Are you using the USB cord that came with your BlackBerry? Does it have the USB icon on the cord or simply a lightening bolt?

-HMthePirate

 

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Torch 9800 won't connect to Desktop Software

Yes.  I have been using the USB port on the PC to connect to the mini USB on my BB.  Thanks.  Any other ideas?

Retired
Posts: 3,246
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Torch 9800 won't connect to Desktop Software

Is the USB cord the one that came with your BlackBerry or another you happen to have had from another device?

On the ports of the cord, do you see the USB trident logo or a lightening bolt? Do you see the BlackBerry logo at all on this cord?

-HMthePirate

 

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Torch 9800 won't connect to Desktop Software

HMthePirate:

 

Thanks for your suggestion.  You hit the nail on the head.  I was using the wrong USB cord.

Retired
Posts: 3,246
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Torch 9800 won't connect to Desktop Software

It has happened to me before. Most USB cords will charge but not all are able to connect.

Glad to hear you were able to connect Smiley Happy

-HMthePirate

 

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-28-2012
My Device: Torch 9810
My Carrier: AT & T

Re: Torch 9800 won't connect to Desktop Software

Hi HMthePirate... I'm hoping you can help me too with the same issue, my Torch 9810 doesn't get recognised by the desktop software.

 

I'm using Windows XP, have looked at all the help suggestions, the cord has USB symbol on it, but it doesn't connect.

The phone is recogmized by the computer, and the desktop software starts automatically, just that my device doesn't appear on it?

Any help much appreciated

David

Retired
Posts: 3,246
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Torch 9800 won't connect to Desktop Software

Hi David,

What version of Desktop Software are you using?

Have you done a reboot of your BlackBerry recently?

Thanks!

-HMthePirate

 

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!