Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Highlighted
New Contributor
My Device: Not Specified

Tour- Headphone Jack

I am a new BB owner, moved from an iphone because of the service....I am questioning my decision now, as everything has seemed to be a project with this phone.  My one question is, what type of headphones do I need, Verizon tells me the Tour has a 3.5 jack, the IPOD has a 3.5 jack, so why don't my ipod headphones work in my Tour. 

I found a pair of Sony's in my draw which i hate, and they work in both the Tour and the Ipod, how does this happen?  any advice for a discouraged newbie??

Thanks

Contributor

Re: Tour- Headphone Jack

I am by no means an expert, but... I believe that these headphone jacks include a connection for a microphone as part of the ensemble...where that connection is on the iphone is different from where the connection is on the BB, apparently.  The only reason I know this is because I bought a device that had an iphone adapter which looked exactly like the same plug, but would not work with my Blackberry Curve just as you are describing, even though it fit in the hole.  I could be wrong.
Guru III
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

most standard head phones will work but the device does have a multi contact connecter for Mic and multi media functions.

Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!

Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals