Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-31-2013
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Trying to Install Blackberry Protect on Bold 9900

[ Edited ]

Hello,

 

I have a bold 9900 with 7.1.0 software installed.

 

I downloaded and installed blackberry protect from app world, however, i am unable to activate the software.

I cannot find the icon anywhere on my device. Does this mean i must have blackberry 10 software installed on my phone to be able to use this app?

 

Is there a way to install blackberry protect on my device? If so, step by step instructions will be grealty appreciated.

 

I found a third party software online named gadget trak but it cost $20 per year. I rather use software designed by blackberry for copatability and security reasons.

 

Your advice is grealty appreciated.

 

Happy New Year 

Posts: 94,478
Likes: 24,391
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Trying to Install Blackberry Protect on Bold 9900

[ Edited ]

brokernum1 wrote:

  Does this mean i must have blackberry 10 software installed on my phone to be able to use this app?


No, BlackBerry10 does not install to and cannot be installed to a 9900.

And, BB10 is not required for Protect to run.

 

Do a simple reboot on the BlackBerry in this manner: With the BlackBerry device POWERED ON, remove the battery for a minute, and then reinsert the battery to reboot. A reboot in this manner is prescribed for most glitches and operating system errors, and you will lose no data on the device doing this.

 

You will be looking for an icon of a goldish-yellow shield, or sometimes it is a black shield.

 

 

If you still don't see it:

1. On your homescreen, press the Menu key > SHOW ALL, so that SHOW ALL is checked.
2. Look in EACH folder on your device... Applications, Instant Messengers, Downloads, etc.
If you still don't see it, look at Options > Advanced > Applications. Do you see it listed there?

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-31-2013
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Trying to Install Blackberry Protect on Bold 9900

I found the icon. However, when I click on it I get a message saying that " cannot use blackberry protect on this device because not compatible with enterprise server". My email account uses enterprise.
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,527
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Trying to Install Blackberry Protect on Bold 9900

KB25065 Unable to use BlackBerry Protect when the BlackBerry smartphone is active on a BlackBerry Enterprise Server



Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-31-2013
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Trying to Install Blackberry Protect on Bold 9900

Is there a way to get blackberry protect to work even though my phone uses an enterprise server? If not I guess I will have to opt for gadget trak at $20 per year unless there are any other better alternatives you can recommend.
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,527
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Trying to Install Blackberry Protect on Bold 9900

Exactly what functions of BB Protect do you desire? Many of them are, or can be, already provided by your BES server. Hence, I would recommend that you already have the best alternative in place -- BES.


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-31-2013
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Trying to Install Blackberry Protect on Bold 9900

The ability to wipe the data and track the phones location in the event it gets stolen.

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,527
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Trying to Install Blackberry Protect on Bold 9900

WIPE can be done from BES, I don't recall if tracking can...you need to talk to your BES admins.



Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-31-2013
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Trying to Install Blackberry Protect on Bold 9900

Ok. I will give them a call tomorrow and find out.

 

Thanks