Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-21-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900
My Carrier: MTN

Typing of 2 A's puts a word in brackets

My sister-in-law has a Torch 9800.

 

Whenever she types 2 A's after oneanother, it puts the word typed in brackets.

 

like (daardie) or (daai) .............

 

Please help?

Posts: 95,511
Likes: 24,546
Solutions: 6,397
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Typing of 2 A's puts a word in brackets

She must have some AutoText setup, it sounds like.

 

Does she type the specific word first, like darrdie and then the two successive As?



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-21-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900
My Carrier: MTN

Re: Typing of 2 A's puts a word in brackets

I don't thinks so - as this ONLY happens when she types a BBM, not a mail or text msg

Posts: 95,511
Likes: 24,546
Solutions: 6,397
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Typing of 2 A's puts a word in brackets

What do those two words mean in English?



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-21-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900
My Carrier: MTN

Re: Typing of 2 A's puts a word in brackets

It means THAT or THOSE ....

Posts: 95,511
Likes: 24,546
Solutions: 6,397
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Typing of 2 A's puts a word in brackets

I don't know what's causing it then.,.. you could check her AutoText entries, but if they were AutoText, then they would also work in typing in an email as well.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-21-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900
My Carrier: MTN

Re: Typing of 2 A's puts a word in brackets

I suggested to delete the BBM App (as it only happens with bbm, not text msg or emails) and re-installing it.

 

Will keep you posted.