Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
My Device: Torch 9810
My Carrier: BTC

Unable to connect to BIS using wifi

Hi, I have had my BB Torch 9810 for a few months now. I would occasionally subscribe to a data plan offered by our local provider. There were times when my data plan had lapsed and I'd use my bbm, whatsapp, and send emails using wifi. Recently, my data plan lapsed again, but this time I'm not ale to use bbm, whatsapp, or send emails using wifi. When I checked the settings on the connection, it says that it's not connected to the blackberry Internet server. This is the first time ever that this has happened to me. Does this mean that I MUST subscribe to a data plan in order to use my bbm, whatsapp, or email?
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 59,104
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Unable to connect to BIS using wifi

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

Yes. Those services are proprietary BB services, and require subscription to an adequate data plan in order to enable them, regardless of the pathway (WiFi versus carrier data network) is used for them. I'd say you simply were lucky those prior times, and they have finally caught up with you.

Good luck!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
My Device: Torch 9810
My Carrier: BTC

Re: Unable to connect to BES using wifi

Is the same with regards to the blackberry enterprise server? The settings are showing that there is no connection with the blackberry enterprise server.
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 59,104
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Unable to connect to BES using wifi

That item only applies if you are on corporate/BES (and, typically, you'd know if you are). If you are not, then that one is irrelevant.

But, for background, when one subscribes to a BES plan from a carrier (in order to use their corporate BES services), they also are usually granted full BIS services, which includes BBM, personal email, etc. But, to have BIS services, one does not have to also subscribe to BES.

BES normally includes BIS, but BIS is also available stand alone (typically...things can vary quite widely by carrier).

Good luck!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................