Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-21-2013
My Device: curve
My Carrier: cricket

Re: Unlocking your BlackBerry Guide

Hey j, I did reply to your last post but just noticed it did not show up. I know after I hit post it did it's thing and showed my new post...I swear...lol. Anyway what I had said in the vanishing post was I am using cricket now with the phone. But can only do calling and texting. Cricket charged me 40 just to flash it to do that. They wanted another 35 I believe it was to do full flash so I could have internet and such. I was a bit ticked when I found out the 40 only gave me half of a flash. Anyway now I'm not sure what to do since your not sure. Is there anyway I can find out for sure?

Thank you so much for your time

Anita
A dog has more friends because they wag their tails instead of their tongue!

~Anita
Posts: 94,471
Likes: 24,384
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Unlocking your BlackBerry Guide

Well, they're pulling both your legs.

 

There is no such thing as 'half flash' and 'full flash'. On a BlackBerry, there's no such thing as "flashing" anything.

The device can either be locked to a branded carrier, such as Verizon, or unlocked.

 

If they at Cricket can GUARANTEE you the additional $35 will get you the data working, go for it. Make sure the $35 is refundable if it doesn't work. I don't think it will.  I'd like for them to prove me wrong by doing it.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-13-2013
My Device: Blackberry Torch 9800
My Carrier: Movistar Argentina

Re: Unlocking your BlackBerry Guide

Hey Anita, this is exactly the same problem I have.

 

Please, would you let me know, once you get it fixed, what did you do?.

because I tried everything I could think off with no luck.

 

Thank you and good luck!

Posts: 94,471
Likes: 24,384
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Unlocking your BlackBerry Guide


jlucca wrote:

Hey Anita, this is exactly the same problem I have.

 

Please, would you let me know, once you get it fixed, what did you do?.

because I tried everything I could think off with no luck.

 

Thank you and good luck!


No, totally different issues. She is using a Verizon locked device on Cricket, which is a Sprint carrier. Sprint does NOT allow Verzion branded device on their network... period.

 

Your is a GSM network issue, likely that Movistar just won't register the device on their network. Movistar is a GSM network which does allow unlocked devices.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-21-2013
My Device: curve
My Carrier: cricket

Re: Unlocking your BlackBerry Guide

Figures...darn just my luck. So if they can't do it for the reasons you have said, Is there any other options for me to get full use out of the phone? I know, I know but I got to ask. Smiley Sad..

Thanks
Anita
A dog has more friends because they wag their tails instead of their tongue!

~Anita
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-21-2013
My Device: curve
My Carrier: cricket

Re: Unlocking your BlackBerry Guide

Hi J. I was wondering if cricket cannot do would it be possible to use phone with T-Mobile or another place? It is a 8330 curve so has no Wi-Fi. I reckon there is no way of adding Wi-Fi to it?

Thanks a bunch
Anita
A dog has more friends because they wag their tails instead of their tongue!

~Anita
Posts: 94,471
Likes: 24,384
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Unlocking your BlackBerry Guide

In the US, a Verizon branded BlackBerry will work only on the Verizon network. Not TMO, ATT or Sprint.

I think Boost Mobile is the Verizon partner network on which it might also work.

 

WiFi cannot be added.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-21-2013
My Device: curve
My Carrier: cricket

Re: Unlocking your BlackBerry Guide

Hey j, I did reply to your last post but just noticed it did not show up. I know after I hit post it did it's thing and showed my new post...I swear...lol. Anyway what I had said in the vanishing post was I am using cricket now with the phone. But can only do calling and texting. Cricket charged me 40 just to flash it to do that. They wanted another 35 I believe it was to do full flash so I could have internet and such. I was a bit ticked when I found out the 40 only gave me half of a flash. Anyway now I'm not sure what to do since your not sure. Is there anyway I can find out for sure?

Thank you so much for your time

Anita
A dog has more friends because they wag their tails instead of their tongue!

~Anita
Posts: 94,471
Likes: 24,384
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Unlocking your BlackBerry Guide

Odd stuff, I don't know where it went either.

 

I honestly don't think Cricket will allow the Verizon branded device on their network, with Cricket being a Sprint re-seller.

 

So here is what I would do, get an agreement with Cricket that if the extra unlock for $35 does not work, you won't owe them the $35.  If it works, you're good.

 

But again, I think I said above, there is no such thing as a "half unlock" and a "full unlock", I think someone was pulling your legs about that.

 

A Verizon branded device such as yours should work on Boost Mobile, i think.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Highlighted
Regular Contributor
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎01-26-2010
My Device: Q10 & PB 64GB
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Unlocking your BlackBerry Guide

Mr J,

 

Pretend I'm from 1972 and cannot understand everything you've already posted in this thread.   (It's alot and I have read it front to back, honest.)

 

Situation.  Telus 9360 phone.  I want to unlock so I can use in New York, Texas, England and Ireland.  I want to follow your linked referal for purchasing an unlock code.  What I don't understand is:

 

1.  Do I buy a SIM at the remote location to be connected to my email, bbm and data services?  Do I need to know something special to purchase a SIM and not get robbed for being a newb?

2.  What do I do with the Telus SIM after the phone is unlocked?  Will the phone still work in Canada?

3.  What will be my phone number at that remote location?  If it's a new number will it work every time I return and reinstall that SIM?

 

If you've already written a tome on unlocking and international use please direct me to it.  Thank you for your help.

Dwayne A