Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-19-2013
My Device: Curve 8900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Updating Curve through BB Desktop - But Back-up not taken. Please help

Dear all,  

 

My phone (BB Curve 8900) is giving weird messages like "bb_rim_msg_module is missing and operations terminated".  So practically phone hangs and I cant use.  I can scroll through but when I get a call, I cant take.  

 

I think there is some problem with the software so I decided to update the software.  When I got to update it tells me that all the data will be lost.

 

But the problem is I am not able to take back-up now since the back-up now button is not activated (although my Device is shown connected.

 

Please help.  Thank you.

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎04-16-2013
My Device: bold 9900
My Carrier: 0

Re: Updating Curve through BB Desktop - But Back-up not taken. Please help

install Blackberry protect
do a back up on that first so you have most of your data saved
then do the software update
when device is back on, go to protect and reinstall last saved profile
should solve your problem
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-19-2013
My Device: Curve 8900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Updating Curve through BB Desktop - But Back-up not taken. Please help

Thank you Rosebags, for the prompt response.

 

I am just focusing on Contacts.  Rest all data is fine (even if they get erased).  I hope this suggestion of yours works before phone hangs again.

 

Will try and update.

New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-19-2013
My Device: Curve 8900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Updating Curve through BB Desktop - But Back-up not taken. Please help

Hi Rosebag,

 

I have taken the back-up on the BB Protect, but how do I do software update?  My phone was working fine, so did not bother.. Now again giving some problems, hence relooking on your response.

Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,392
Registered: ‎03-29-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Z10 OS Leaked 10.2.0.1725 | STL100-2
My Carrier: Globe Telecom

Re: Updating Curve through BB Desktop - But Back-up not taken. Please help

Here's an article on how to update your BlackBerry, see this article.

How to update BlackBerry Device Software using BlackBerry Desktop Software for Windows

 

Thanks and good luck!



Please thank those who help you by clicking the button.
If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking "Accept as Solution"



New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-19-2013
My Device: Curve 8900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Updating Curve through BB Desktop - But Back-up not taken. Please help

Hi,

 

Thanks for the reply..  But if you would have missed.. Desktop manager does not recongnise my phone.. That's the problem..

Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,392
Registered: ‎03-29-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Z10 OS Leaked 10.2.0.1725 | STL100-2
My Carrier: Globe Telecom

Re: Updating Curve through BB Desktop - But Back-up not taken. Please help

Oh. Sorry. Read this article.

How to force the detection of the BlackBerry smartphone using Application Loader

 

Try that one.

 

Good luck!



Please thank those who help you by clicking the button.
If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking "Accept as Solution"