Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-26-2013
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: English

Upgrade Software from v4 to v5

Hi All

 

        I owne BB Curve 8520 and I had alot of problems with software so I dowengrede it from v5 to v4 It works good.

Now am tryong to Upgreade it agin to v5 from Desktop softwaer I had this Masseage:

'' This BlackBerry® Device Software upgrade includes new features and significant enhancements to the BlackBerry® solution and, as such, is only available to users with an active BlackBerry subscription. To learn more about BlackBerry® service, please visit www.blackberry.com/service.''

 

and the link above is not valid.

 

*Note: i have the latest Desktop version.

 

Really I need help

Posts: 95,163
Likes: 24,501
Solutions: 6,378
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Upgrade Software from v4 to v5

You need to disconnect EVERY internet connection from the PC, unplug any DSL cable and disable any wireless. Take the SIM card out of the 8520. Then proceed with the manual upgrade.

 

See the link below for the download, and follow these simple installation instructions.

First locate your carrier and the OS file you wish to use.
http://na.blackberry.com/eng/support/downloads/download_sites.jsp

Do a backup of your device first, using Desktop Manager > Backup. Close Desktop Manager upon completion.

1. Download the OS file to the PC then install it to the PC by running (double clicking) the file you downloaded.
2. Go to c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader and delete the file named "vendor.xml." (You might have another Vendor.xml file hiding on your computer. Open Windows Explorer and under the Organize button (on Windows 7, there are similar tools for Vista and XP) click on "Folder and search options." Under the View tab, make sure that your computer is set to show hidden folders and files. Once you've done this, search your C:\ drive for "Vendor.xml".)
3. Plug in BB and double click on "Loader.exe." It's located in the same place as the above vendor.xml file.

**Starting with the later OS6 releases, there are now three copies of VENDOR.XML
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader (for 32-bit Windows XP/Vista/7)
==========OR============
C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader (for 64-bit Windows Vista/7)
C:\Documents and Settings\*name*\AppData\Roaming\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML
C:\Documents and Settings\*name*\Application Data\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML
You can also just search for VENDOR.XML. Make sure that you choose ADVANCED SEARCH and include hidden files. It should show the file in at three locations. Delete every copy that it finds.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-26-2013
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: English

Re: Upgrade Software from v4 to v5

not working

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-26-2013
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: English

Re: Upgrade Software from v4 to v5

[ Edited ]

any other Idia

Posts: 95,163
Likes: 24,501
Solutions: 6,378
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Upgrade Software from v4 to v5


MhamoudKobessy wrote:

not working


Sorry, it is impossible to diagnose or help with a response as "not working".

With the several steps involved, please pinpoint specifically what is not working.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-26-2013
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: English

Re: Upgrade Software from v4 to v5

First Thanks a lot for helping me.

 

when I opened  "Loader.exe." a window opend and ther is no active options.

Highlighted
Posts: 95,163
Likes: 24,501
Solutions: 6,378
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Upgrade Software from v4 to v5


MhamoudKobessy wrote:

First Thanks a lot for helping me.

 

when I opened  "Loader.exe." a window opend and ther is no active options.


then you have either not installed the required OS file to your PC, or deleted the vendor,xml files.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code