Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Highlighted
Contributor
My Device: Curve 8250
My Carrier: O2

Upgrading 9500 to 5

Hi,

I'm a UK developer with a Storm 9500 running firmware v4.7.0.181. I've not been able to find any valid information about if this device can be upgraded to OS 5.0? In this devices simulator I have this (as I'm using the 5.0 SDK) and I've found numerous posts (i.e: here) suggesting that you can upgrade it but when I run the upgrade link http://worldwide.blackberry.com/update/blackberrystorm.jsp, it tells me I can not upgrade, only downgrade!

Could anyone help me out here?

Thanks

Retired
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: rogers

Re: Upgrading 9500 to 5

Have a look at this link: http://na.blackberry.com/eng/support/downloads/download_sites.jsp

This will link you to a list of service providers download sites for BlackBerry Software. Select your service provider then select your device from the pull down menu.

Hope this helps.

Contributor

Hey thanks for the reply. My Storm 9500 is on Orange (UK) but this model doesn't show up in the list on that site. Should this site show download links for every model the network provides? Or are some missing?

Hall of Famer III
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAF518), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

[ Edited ]

Hello,

That's because Orange UK does not sell nor support that model -- at least that's how it looks from the download page. Did you buy it from them or did you buy it elsewhere and are trying to run it on their network?

Also, you are not limited to using an OS package provided by your carrier. Use these instructions to install any carriers OS for your model BB:

But, you must insert, between steps 1 and 2, the deletion, on your PC, of a file named VENDOR.XML.

Good luck!