Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Contributor
My Device: Not Specified

Video formatting for BlackBerry Storm, please help

I have video's recorded on my Storm and when I try to play them back I get an error message stating it's in an unsupported format.  I've tried a lot of different things and I'm very new to BlackBerry period, can someone help me out???
Elite II
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: grameenphone

Re: Video formatting for BlackBerry Storm, please help

Check this knowledge base - Media types supported on the BlackBerry smartphone

tanzim                                                                                  
If your query is resolved then please click on Accept as Solution

Click on the LIKE on the bottom right if the post deserves credit

Developer
My Device: ***
My Carrier: ***

If you have recorded videos with your Storm - your Storm must playback these videos.

Otherwise it is a bug in device operating system/media player.

Contributor

I have recorded a video using my Storm a few times and everytime i try to play it back, it states that it can't support the format.  Now I'm not very tech savvy but there is a video that was pre-loaded on the Storm that was in a .mp4 and I notice that when I'm recording it's extension is .GP3.  I really could use some help in clarifying this so I can view videos that I'm recording.
Guru I
My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

RIM has acknowledged that bug. Please read this article from the public knowledge base:

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB17020
Playing a video on the BlackBerry Storm smartphone
results in the error message media being played is an unsupported format

The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
Contributor