Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-17-2012
My Device: bold 9700
My Carrier: vodaphone

WIFI

I have a blackberry bold 9700 and have moved to france for 5 months. It is relatively new to me but have had one before so know how to use it. I have WIFI connection in my accomodation and my blackberry recognises this and connects. However it says its connected but doesn't work, so my apps such as Whatsapp, bbm, bank, and email don't work or come through, things that only require wifi won't work. 

I have tried several things and am struggling to make it work, my main priority would be whatsap. 

 

Can anyone help?!

 

Thanks

Guru II
Posts: 22,035
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: WIFI

Is there a hotspot you need to log into in order to complete the wifi connection?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-17-2012
My Device: bold 9700
My Carrier: vodaphone

Re: WIFI

What do you mean by hotspot?! And how would I know if I needed to?! Other people with Iphones have got it working fine!

 

Guru II
Posts: 22,035
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: WIFI

Is this a public wifi location? You may need to log in to the wifi connection after you connect. If the device doesn't prompt you to log in to the hotspot then open the browser and try to connect to a webpage like www.google.com

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Forums Veteran III
Posts: 3,804
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
My Device: Z30 / Playbook

Re: WIFI

[ Edited ]

Give your carrier a call and verify that you have the correct blackberry data plan on your account.  Without it, the apps you listed will not work even while on WiFi.  John made a good suggestion too, that was going to be the next thing I would check.

________________________________________________________________
Please click the Thumbs Up icon if this comment has helped you!
If your issue is resolved, please click the solution button on the resolution!
Every BlackBerry should have BlackBerry Protect, get it now! | Follow me on Twitter | Bring Back BBM Music!
________________________________________________________________
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-17-2012
My Device: bold 9700
My Carrier: vodaphone

Re: WIFI

No it's not a public location, it's privvate and in accomodation. Why would it say it's connected and then not be able to use any of my wifi using apps?!

 

I have roaming and data turned off due to cost abroad, but that shouldn't affect it should it?!

Guru II
Posts: 22,035
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: WIFI

You must turn on data services or nothing will work, not even wifi.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!