Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-20-2013
My Device: torch 9800
My Carrier: vodafone
Accepted Solution

Wi Fi set up.

I have been given a 9800 torch (new), and I am having trouble setting up any Wi Fi connection.

I am a Blackberry noob and as I'm used to Nokia handsets I'm begining to feel like a plank.

My problem is when I go into Networks and Connections I find only Mobile Network and Bluetooth and no WI FI, so I'm unable to access my Wi Fi with my phone at home, or anywhere else for that matter.

However when I go into Device and Status Iformation, it shows Wi Fi as being Off.

Has anyone experienced this problem, and if so how did you resolve it?

Guru II
Posts: 22,045
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Wi Fi set up.

Are you sure this device is "new?" It is possible that it has an IT policy on it restricting wifi access. Follow the instructions at the link below to reset the device to factory settings.

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB18998


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-20-2013
My Device: torch 9800
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: Wi Fi set up.

Thanks for the quick reply John.

I was thinking the same thing, so I did a Security Wipe back to factory settings thinking it would solve the problem but no change.

Guru II
Posts: 22,045
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Wi Fi set up.

A simple security wipe is not enough. That will not remove an IT policy. Please do a "reset to factory" as outlined in the link I posted.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-20-2013
My Device: torch 9800
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: Wi Fi set up.

Will do. Fingers crossed.

Guru II
Posts: 22,045
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Wi Fi set up.

They're crossed!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-20-2013
My Device: torch 9800
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: Wi Fi set up.

Many thanks John. It worked perfectly. Cheers !

 

Guru II
Posts: 22,045
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Wi Fi set up.

Excellent!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!