Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-04-2013
My Device: 9790
My Carrier: Vodacom

Windows8

It would seem that the Desktop Software does not want to Install on Windows 8? Any other person with the same issue? Any advice?

Retired
Posts: 2,372
Registered: ‎07-13-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10 smartphone

Re: Windows8

[ Edited ]

Hello joconradie,

Welcome to the BlackBerry Support Community.

 

Windows 8 is currently unsupported for BlackBerry Desktop Software 7.

 

Please see the requirements as listed below:

 

http://bbry.lv/11XEakt

 

Thank you.

 

(See below)


-FB


 


Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on Twitter! @BlackBerryHelp


Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click "Accept as a Solution" for posts that have solved your issue(s)!


Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-04-2013
My Device: 9790
My Carrier: Vodacom

Re: Windows8

Any idea as to when Windows8 will be supported?

My BlackBerry Contract is due for upgrade and if I cannot do a sync with my BB and Outlook SOON, then the BB will have to go.

Highlighted
Retired
Posts: 2,372
Registered: ‎07-13-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10 smartphone

Re: Windows8

Hi joconradie,

 

My apologies for the misinformation as support for Windows 8 has now been added for BlackBerry Desktop Software.

 

The following article may help:

 

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB32926

 

Let me know if you run into any issues.


-FB


 


Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on Twitter! @BlackBerryHelp


Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click "Accept as a Solution" for posts that have solved your issue(s)!


Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-04-2013
My Device: 9790
My Carrier: Vodacom

Re: Windows8

.Net 3.5 Installed.

System re-started.

"This app cannot run on your PC."

Please, please, pretty please sort this out.

Developer
Posts: 648
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
My Device: Limited Edition Z10, Playbook 16GB/32GB, Dev Alpha A/B/C
My Carrier: Mobile Vikings

Re: Windows8

[ Edited ]

I am using Windows 8 together with BlackBerry Desktop Software since a couple of months now, without any issues.

I don't know what is causing your problem, but I don't have that issue. This doesn't really help you, but at least you are sure it should normally work (which actually makes the problem worse :-( )



A like is always appreciated,
but a nomination for BB Elite even more :-)
You can also contact me on Twitter: @ndsmyter
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-04-2013
My Device: 9790
My Carrier: Vodacom

Re: Windows8

Yes, it does not help.

Which Software file did you use to install?

Developer
Posts: 648
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
My Device: Limited Edition Z10, Playbook 16GB/32GB, Dev Alpha A/B/C
My Carrier: Mobile Vikings

Re: Windows8

[ Edited ]

I used the file you can find here: https://swdownloads.blackberry.com/Downloads/contactFormPreload.do?code=A8BAA56554F96369AB93E4F3BB06...

 

Maybe I could have been a little more helpful:
Do you have all the necessary permissions ? Have you tried running as an administrator (right click on file in Explorer and choose "Run as Administrator") ? If that doesn't work, you can try the "Troubleshoot compatibility" via the Right click menu.

I had version B33, now it is B39. But I'll try if this version works for me.

Update: I had no problems installing the B39 version. Everything works as expected.



A like is always appreciated,
but a nomination for BB Elite even more :-)
You can also contact me on Twitter: @ndsmyter
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-04-2013
My Device: 9790
My Carrier: Vodacom

Re: Windows8

Sorry, you have encountered an unexpected error. Please contact the webmaster.
Oh, I cannot BELIEVE this! I feel like I am in a real life TV show...
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-04-2013
My Device: 9790
My Carrier: Vodacom

Re: Windows8

What is the file size you have downloaded?
I see the PC downloads only 10kb?