Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-18-2009
My Device: Bold 9000

Wiping Bold 9000 With Keyboard Malfunction

I have to return my Bold 9000 under warranty due to some malfunctioning of the keyboard.  I would like to wipe the Blackberry before returning it.  However, because my "a" key is not working correctly, I am not able to type "blackberry" when prompted in order to be able to invoke wiping.  Is there any other way to wipe the BB?  Thanks.
Elite I
Posts: 6,343
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
My Device: 9800 - OS 6.0.0.246

Re: Wiping Bold 9000 With Keyboard Malfunction

Do you have a password enabled on your device? If not then you can setup a password. If you enter the incorrect password 10 times the device will be wiped
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
If someone has been helpful please consider giving them kudos by clicking the star to the left of their post.
Remember to resolve your thread by clicking Accepted Solution.
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-18-2009
My Device: Bold 9000

Re: Wiping Bold 9000 With Keyboard Malfunction

I do have a password enabled.  I will try it...
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-18-2009
My Device: Bold 9000

Re: Wiping Bold 9000 With Keyboard Malfunction

It still asks me to type "blackberry" which I am unable to do because of my defective "a" key.
Posts: 95,504
Likes: 24,546
Solutions: 6,397
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Wiping Bold 9000 With Keyboard Malfunction

[ Edited ]
You will need to use JL_Cmder to use the RESET TO FACTORY command. Follow the instructions here:

http://www.blackberryfaq.com/index.php/How_do_I_wipe_the_BlackBerry_using_Jl_Cmder%3F
Message Edited by JSanders on 08-18-2009 09:03 AM


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-18-2009
My Device: Bold 9000

Re: Wiping Bold 9000 With Keyboard Malfunction

Unfortunately my company prohibits the downloading of apps, granting of admin privileges, etc..  So, I am unable to use JL_Cmdr.  I'm also reaching out to my company's support org.  Thanks.
Posts: 95,504
Likes: 24,546
Solutions: 6,397
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Wiping Bold 9000 With Keyboard Malfunction

Ok, well those are your choices... find a personal PC somewhere to handle it.


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Elite I
Posts: 6,343
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
My Device: 9800 - OS 6.0.0.246

Re: Wiping Bold 9000 With Keyboard Malfunction

If you have Desktop Manager already installed (version 4.7 or higher) you can follow these steps to wipe and reset the device using the "loader.exe /resettofactory" command - http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB17215.

 

 

If you're on a BES, the BES people can use a command to remotely wipe the device

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB14202

 

 

 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
If someone has been helpful please consider giving them kudos by clicking the star to the left of their post.
Remember to resolve your thread by clicking Accepted Solution.
Highlighted
Posts: 95,504
Likes: 24,546
Solutions: 6,397
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Wiping Bold 9000 With Keyboard Malfunction

[ Edited ]
Thanks jmrmb, that's true, should be nothing new to install!
Message Edited by JSanders on 08-18-2009 10:43 AM


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code