Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-18-2010
My Device: Not Specified

blackberry maps

I have BB 9800 but I don't have blackberry maps I need to install it again but I try a lot but I can'tplease help me to install it again ?
Guru II
Posts: 22,044
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: blackberry maps

What happened to it?  Did you delete it?  Where are you trying to download from?  It should come preinstalled on the device.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-18-2010
My Device: Blackberry Torch 9800
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: blackberry maps

Blackberry isnt available for torch 9800, i think is politic of att not install it to use att maps & nav. The version of BB maps is for ver 4 or below.
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-18-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: blackberry maps

I think this appliction of map was already found on 9800 but someone delete it from my BB so I want know how can I download it again I try from BB site but no way.
Guru II
Posts: 22,044
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: blackberry maps

I'm assuming your device is running OS 6.0.0.141?  You'll need to install the OS to your PC.  Follow the instructions below all the way through running "loader.exe."  You will get a list of checkboxes and you can check the Maps application.  It will reinstall the maps app.

 

http://www.blackberryforums.com/general-9800-series-discussion-torch/233215-latest-os-9800-6-0-0-278...


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Contributor
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎11-03-2008
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: blackberry maps

I'm interested if anyone can explain WHY they want BlackBerry Maps. Obviously they've never TRIED BlackBerry Maps. The app came installed in my new Torch and I messed with it many times trying to tweak it and finally gave up disgusted at such a poor quality program.

 

NEVER could BlackBerry Maps find me! I'm in Houston, a very large city, and my location is not a secret.... except to BBMaps. Nothing about the program is user friendly.

 

Thanks, I'll stick with Google Maps and something that works perfectly every time. Smiley Wink

Guru II
Posts: 22,044
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: blackberry maps

Really? Bbmaps finds me ok every time. It uses less data than google and caches it for offline use. BB Maps has its uses.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Contributor
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎11-03-2008
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: blackberry maps

I'm glad to know somebody enjoys it John. If I get anything besides NO LOCATION FOUND, it shows me over two blocks from my house. Google knows exactly where I am and can follow my progress with an arrow as I travel.

 

I still play with BlackBerry Maps from time to time but nothing changes.

Contributor
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎11-03-2008
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: blackberry maps

[ Edited ]

Well darn it John, you got me interested again and I am now more frustrated than before. BlackBerry Maps is not an application that is designed to do what Google Maps does. I suppose for its purpose, it is fine but I really enjoy Google's satellite view and being able to type in a city's name and the map showing you the area. If I have an address or link in my CONTACTS folder, BBMaps can tell me how to get there but where I work, live and shop is normally the places I know how to get to!

 

So far, everything I listed as a favorite after picking its location on BBMaps, has the address wrong and I've had to edit it.

 

Oh well........ Thanks for the info anyway.