Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-20-2011
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: roger/fido

branding logo

 

Hi,

 

Please let me know  is it possible bb has no logo/ no branding (service provider)  in side like other start with roger or telus logo.

 

I saw one BB 9780 there in logo in software and out side. they said its factory unlock. is it possible pls reply me.

 

Thanks,

Elite II
Posts: 8,978
Registered: ‎01-05-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z30
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: branding logo

When BlackBerry devices leave the factory, they have no branding on the software.  This means that if you were to turn on the phone, you would not see any carrier's logo on the initial splash screen.  Once a carrier receives the phones, they will tweak the software slightly so their logo appears on the screen.

That explains the branding on the screen.  As for the branding on the actual phone, some phones will not have the distinctive BlackBerry logo on the back of the phone while others will.  This is dependant on which factory manufactured the phone.  Even if your phone has neither of these brandings, it's still a genuine BlackBerry.

 

 

I hope that explains things.  Smiley Happy


- If my response has helped you, please click "Options" beside my post and mark it as solved. Clicking the "thumbs up" icon near the bottom of my response would also be appreciated.



Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,257
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAF518), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: branding logo

[ Edited ]

<edit> removed in favor of prior response! 

 

Cheers!



Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-20-2011
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: roger/fido

Re: branding logo

Hi,

 

Sorry what you mean?, pls explain.

 

Thanks,

Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-20-2011
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: roger/fido

Re: branding logo

 Hi,

 

Thanks, Please ignore my earlier reply. I agree with you

 

That BB made in Maxico. In it no service provider logo or branding, start with BB OS. And BB people said we are not selling BB without carrier, like factory unlock. BB on outlet/store. Is that right?

 

Thanks,

Elite II
Posts: 8,978
Registered: ‎01-05-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z30
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: branding logo

You can buy BlackBerry devices that are not branded to a carrier.  If someone buys a new BlackBerry and unlocks it from its branded carrier, that phone is no longer branded.  I actually got a phone directly from RIM about a year ago and it wasn't branded.  So as you can see, there are many phones out there that are not branded.  What you might have heard is a carrier saying they will not support a phone (meaning they will not allow it on their network) that is not branded to them.  That basically means you didn't buy it from them and they don't want to allow a phone that they haven't made money selling to you.  Will the phone still work on their network?  Maybe yes, maybe no, but they won't allow an unbranded phone on their network.

 

 

I hope I've explained that well enough.  Please post back if you require clarification.  Smiley Happy


- If my response has helped you, please click "Options" beside my post and mark it as solved. Clicking the "thumbs up" icon near the bottom of my response would also be appreciated.