Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Highlighted
Posts: 94,471
Likes: 24,389
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: cannot dial

I'd  highly advise you to do a backup using the Desktop Software.

And then, you'll want to wipe the device and reload the Operating system.

Article ID: KB29847 BlackBerry Desktop Software is not required to perform a clean reload of the BlackBerry Smartphone.

 

You will need to use BBSAK or JL_Cmder to wipe the device and subsequently load the OS to the device. Follow the instructions here:
http://www.blackberryfaq.com/index.php/How_do_I_wipe_the_BlackBerry_using_Jl_Cmder%3F
For BBSAK, here is the link: http://bbsak.org/

 

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
My Device: Storm 2 9550
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: cannot dial

I have not had a chance to look at my phone in 3 weeks

Right now it is locked up with following error message:

Uncaught exceptions: ApplicationRegistry.wait

For

(0x7c802477365c3985)

timeout

The preivous post that i sent was:

The plot thickens...

I just tried moving the phone icon,which I tried and did before, but now the messages doesn`t open There is a new error message:

Uncaught exceptions: Application

net_rim_bb_messaging_app(95) is not responding;process terminated

And the SMS is not opening

Browser is not opening

The icons do open/

After moving them around ,Now they are all opening

except for the Phone

Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
My Device: Storm 2 9550
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: cannot dial

Thank you for your advice.  The first problem is that the Back Up is grey I reinstalled the Desk Soft Ware but to no avail.

So fisrt I need instruction on reinstalling the Desk Top software and how to monitor that it reinstalling. The Back up was always grey from the the installition in Nov.

Posts: 94,471
Likes: 24,389
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: cannot dial

But, can you connect a do a back up of the device now?

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
My Device: Storm 2 9550
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: cannot dial

I do not know to do a back up and the phone is locked up.

Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
My Device: Storm 2 9550
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: cannot dial

BlackBerry Operating System Downloads doesn`t include the Storm 2 9550

Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
My Device: Storm 2 9550
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: cannot dial

BlackBerry Desktop Software is not required to perform a clean reload of the BlackBerry Smartphone.

 

To complete a clean reload without using BlackBerry® Desktop Software perform the following steps:

So Why Does it say the following?:

1.Download and install the appropriate BlackBerry® Device Software from your wireless service

Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
My Device: Storm 2 9550
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: cannot dial

Should I download BB 6 OS since there is no BB Storm 2 listed?

But what can be done about the grey backup? I have already uninstalled the Desk top Manager and reinstalled to no avail. It seems something is preventing the full installation of that function.  I bought the the phone unlocked and when I turned it on it is obvious from Verizon but I use AT&T

Posts: 94,471
Likes: 24,389
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: cannot dial

1. There is no AT&T version of the 9550 Operating System. I used the 9550 on AT&T for several months, and it really is not a great idea. You won't get 3G service, it's slow, and the 9550 is not intended for AT&T.

 

2. You can download the 9550 OS from here:  http://www.blackberryforums.com/general-9500-series-discussion-storm/250431-latest-os-9550-5-0-0-175...

 

3. Article ID: KB23680 How to backup BlackBerry smartphone data using BlackBerry Desktop Software 6.0 to 7.0

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
My Device: Storm 2 9550
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: cannot dial

Thank you

1Can you please explain what you mean by :You won't get 3G service, it's slow

2 How can I deal with the greyed Back Up option on the the DeskTop Mnager?