Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

New Contributor
My Device: Curve 9300
My Carrier: t-mobile pre pay

curve 9300 won't play recorded video, error message

[ Edited ]

I am new to BB, have a new 9300.I  recorded a 2 minute video with the BB without issues but  when I tried to play it back, I received the message 'the media being played is of an unsupported format'.,The recorded video has a .3gp file extension, rather than an mp4, why? .3gp is not listed as a supported video file.  the media card is a 32gb sdhc card I just formatted and saved music and pictures to without problems. What is happening here? Is the phone recording in a format that is cannot play? Can the video recording format be changed, say to mp4? I have no problems playing you tube videos etc., its only the recorded videos.

There is a demo video on the phone in mp4 and it plays fine. Will appreciate your advice. Anne

PS  I just shot another 30sec video and the phone completely froze when I tried to play it.  Took out battery to get it going again. Still receiving  the same message.

INFO: phone says: v.5.0.0846. Platform6.3.039   Please assist.

Forums Veteran I
My Device: Curve 8520 OS v5.0.0.681
My Carrier: Orange UK

Re: curve 9300 won't play recorded video, error message

Do you have "content protection" enabled on your Media Card? Look at Options > Security > General Settings > Content Protection.

And look at Options > Memory > Encryption Mode.

Disable any encrytion on the card.

If you haven't already done so, do a powered-on battery pull and leave it out for a couple of minutes or so.

Blackberry Best Advice - Back-up weekly

If I have helped you please check the "Kudos" star on the right >>>>
New Contributor