Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-09-2012
My Device: Torch
My Carrier: Rogers

desktop update error

Yesterday, when I opened my Blackberry desktop software, I received a message that an update was available. I installed the update. When  I opened the desktop software this morning, it asked me to confirm my settings, which I did and all looked OK and set to synchronize with my Outlook accounts. However I received the following error message when I tried to synchronize. Please advise.

 

Caught_com_error exception. Description(): (null): Error(): -2147023151 (0x800706D1):

ErrorMessage(): The procedure number is out of range.; Source(): (null)

 

Steve

 

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,185
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: desktop update error

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

 

I suggest the following steps (insert plenty of reboots of your PC...not just restarts, but full power down reboots). Also, it is advised that you be logged into the PC on an account with full admin rights. Further, under Vista/Win7, use the "Run As Administrator" option for everything.

Further, it has also been reported that when your user profile on windows (type 'echo %userprofile%' in the command prompt) contains spaces, then the installer will not work. In order to solve this issue, log out of your Windows account and log back in using the local Administrator account (or any other account name without spaces) and install the desktop (for all users).

1) Remove any/all device OS update package(s) from your PC (add/remove programs)

2) Cleanly uninstall the RIM Desktop Software:

 

  • KB02206 How to perform a clean uninstall of BlackBerry Desktop Software
  • Some have reported the manual search and removal of RIM, BB, and Puma registry keys to be helpful...do not attempt this if you are at all unsure as editing your registry wrongly can render your entire PC useless.
  • Others have reported the use of a registry cleansing tool to also be helpful
  • Still others have reported the use of your original PIM (e.g., Outlook, NOTES, etc.) installation CD, running the "repair" process, to be helpful in some situations


3) Get a fresh download of the RIM Desktop Software:


4) Download (to your PC) a fresh copy of your device OS package from your carrier:


5) Install the Desktop Software to your PC

6) Install (also to your PC), the device OS package

7) Start the organizer configuration over:

  • KB03315 How to synchronize organizer data (calendar, task list, memo list, and contact list) using the BlackBerry Desktop Software


Hopefully that will get things going again.

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-09-2012
My Device: Torch
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: desktop update error

We tried all of these methods:

uninstalled the desktop software

reinstalled the desktop software

re-booted by shutting down between steps

Re-booted the phone (Torch 9800) by pulling the battery

Restoring the desktop computer to a date before I installed the Blackberry Desktop update that triggered the problem in the first place.

Then the "pre-update" Blackberry desktop software still wouldn't sync but with different problems. The "organizer"  selections for synchronization were all clear and the "Configure" function wouldn't allow them to be set up. When "Configure" was selected, a message came up "Unknown Error".

Any ideas? Presumably othes received the updae notice; Is anyone else having this problem?

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,185
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: desktop update error

From your description, it sounds like you skipped steps 4 and 6 completely...sometimes, those can help communication between the BB and the PC as they sort of customize the Desktop Software to exactly your specific BB model number and OS level (assuming you use the exact OS package that is already running on your BB).

Also, cleansing the registry can clear up some corruption items that can exist, especially if there were even older versions of the RIM Desktop Software ever installed to that system.

I'm not sure how effective restoring the computer itself can be, sometimes that works, other times it affects mostly data (rather than the actual installed programs).

So, I guess I'd recommend doing everything in my above post, to the maximum extent possible, to try and cleanse your PC system as much as possible plus installing the BB OS package so as to help the Desktop Software have the best chance at good functionality with your specific BB/OS.

I know that this method has worked for many many people (not 100% to be sure, but quite close)...but sometimes it takes careful diligence to fully complete all of the steps in the process.

Good luck!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-11-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: 3

Re: desktop update error

[ Edited ]

I would advise against installing it!.

 

Read the forum and you’ll see people have nothing but hassle with yet another update from this useless company.

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎01-27-2012
My Device: Bold 9930
My Carrier: Sprint

Re: desktop update error

For as long as I've been on a Blackberry, each & every update introduced some more problems. Silly me for thinking an update would solve existing problems.
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-06-2012
My Device: Bold9700
My Carrier: Telstra (Australia)

Re: desktop update error

I got the same problem when I downloaded the update about 1 month ago. I have followed the support community 'fixes' to the letter and have had no success whatsoever. My latest efforts now can't even download the desktop software properly as I get an 'Error 1316' message telling me that a network error occurred  while attempting to read from the file C:\Windows\Installer\BlackBerry Desktop Software.msi" when trying to uninstall/upgrage Blackberry Desktop Software. Again I diligently follow the instruction to fix the fix for the original problem and get nowhere. Any suggestions or is everything just on a slippery slope to non-existence for Blackberry?

Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-06-2012
My Device: Bold9700
My Carrier: Telstra (Australia)

Re: desktop update error

I just resynched my BB Bold 9700 with a laptop I haven't used for a couple of months. When I fired up the BB desktop software it asked me to download the update (which I skipped) and it works perfectly. Unfortunately anyone reading this forum will only be reading it because they have downloaded the update and are having problems with the desktop software so this little gem will be worthless to them, if not a bit frustrating. (I also tried a system restore on my current - not working - desktop, but it did not manage to fix the download errors)