Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

My Device: Not Specified

duplicate contacts showing up on blackberry.

Hi all!

Im new here so please bear with me...

I have a user who just received a new laptop - installed with Desktop Manager 4.2. She can sync just fine, but apparently she has duplicate contacts showing up in her blackberry device now. She wants to know how to remove the duplicated entries from her device. 

Any help is greatly appreciated as i am pretty new at supporting blackberry devices.

Thanks in advance! Smiley Happy

~nicholas 

Elite II
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: grameenphone

Re: duplicate contacts showing up on blackberry.

Check the following knowledge base which might help you to get rid of the problem.

Contacts are duplicated on the handheld after wireless synchronization

tanzim                                                                                  
If your query is resolved then please click on Accept as Solution

Click on the LIKE on the bottom right if the post deserves credit

New Contributor

[ Edited ]

Is the user also on Blackberry Enterprise Service?  If so, then they shouldn't use the Desktop Software.  Here's a link that explains how to get rid of the duplicates:

bluescreensolutions.blogspot.com/2009/12/duplicate-contacts-on-blackberry-using.html

EDIT: Link removed

My Device: Blackberry Storm
My Carrier: ATT

Try Contacts Cleaner - an app on Blackberry App World.  It's the only thing that seems to work.

My Device: curve
My Carrier: verizon

Thanks for the tip on Contacts Cleaner.  I checked it out and RIM actually chose them as the best Blackberry App alongside the Sierra Club App and a sports App by CBS.  Also, Berry Reporter recommends Contacts Cleaner.  Thanks again  for the recommendation.

My Device: Bold 9700