Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-18-2011
My Device: torch
My Carrier: tmobile

Re: help please aim and windows live issue

i have tmobile usa full data plan for blackberry just checked and alos confirmed with customer support,I did reinstall 2 times and took the battery out when the phone was on I  hd to change the tcp ip from cingular wireless to tmobile

Posts: 94,255
Likes: 24,337
Solutions: 6,331
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: help please aim and windows live issue

 


ccecilia1981 wrote:

i I  hd to change the tcp ip from cingular wireless to tmobile


Yep,.. and how is yoru WLM working now, that you have made this change?

 

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-18-2011
My Device: torch
My Carrier: tmobile

Re: help please aim and windows live issue

same does not work! ironically it was cingular first then tech support told me do do etc tmobile ,after that i updated applications from blackberry desktop manager and now when I looked it changed back to cingular so I changed it again,i think my phon has a  ind of its own!.I noticed with cingular there therewas enterprise email should I swich back to that and try to use enterprise would that make a difference ? I am confused please help I have never experienced this kind of trouble beforeSmiley Sad

Posts: 94,255
Likes: 24,337
Solutions: 6,331
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: help please aim and windows live issue

OK, tell me these two things: 

 

  • What is your Operating System loaded to your device? Look at Options > About, third line down beginning with a "v.5.0.x.xxx", What is yours?
  • Look at Options > Security > INformation. What is on that screen?

 

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-18-2011
My Device: torch
My Carrier: tmobile

Re: help please aim and windows live issue

security BBFS1 (GTALKNA1)

Posts: 94,255
Likes: 24,337
Solutions: 6,331
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: help please aim and windows live issue

Please answer both questions.

 

This might move a lot quicker if you did. Thanks.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-18-2011
My Device: torch
My Carrier: tmobile

Re: help please aim and windows live issue

i am trying to find where it is sorry..... hang on

Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-18-2011
My Device: torch
My Carrier: tmobile

Re: help please aim and windows live issue

v6.0.0.246 platform 6.4.0.105

Posts: 94,255
Likes: 24,337
Solutions: 6,331
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: help please aim and windows live issue

Ok, good, one more thing to check...

 

  • Please go to your Options > Device > Device and Status Information screen.
  • On that screen type B U Y R  (you will not find a box to type this, just type those four letters "buyr"
  • Scroll to the bottom of the screen you will see "IT Policy:" What is on that line?
>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎02-18-2011
My Device: torch
My Carrier: tmobile

Re: help please aim and windows live issue

it says disabled