Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Highlighted
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 59,104
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: help with software upgrade

OK...let me see if I understand correctly:


speedy1zn wrote:

i pass the first process


You mean, the process linked in post 2 above? And, by "pass", what does that mean? To me, it means that the process was successful. But I do not think that is what you mean.


speedy1zn wrote:

then get stuck on the second process


Do you mean this one from post 5?

There are many steps in there, is this the screen you are stuck on?

 

 

But it never completes the "Wait for Device Initialization" step?

 


speedy1zn wrote:

i dont pass the second process to see if the last 2 work.


Perhaps you should try the last 2 to see if they might work where the others fail?


speedy1zn wrote:

when the phone switches off the reboots, it stals while loading.


How long do you wait? Sometimes, it can take as long as 15 minutes (perhaps longer) for the reboot to complete. What does the device screen show?

 


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-07-2012
My Device: blackberry 9320
My Carrier: cell c

Re: help with software upgrade

ok let me explain myself nicely.
 
the first process is, load jvm and system software, that process gets done.
 
the second process is, wait for device initialization, that's the process that i cant get pass. i keep getting a message saying, application loader was unable to connect with your device. please re-connect your device, enter the password, if required, and click retry.
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 59,104
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: help with software upgrade

I see now we are using completely different terms for things. By "process", I mean the 4 different articles I provided to you above, not the details within any of them. You, on the other hand, are talking about the details within when you say "process".

 

As such, I still do not know which of the 4 processes (my definition, not yours) I provided that you are actually attempting...I understand it is stuck inside one of those, but I need to know which (of those 4 links in the posts above) you are actually attempting so that I can follow along and hopefully help you.

 

Nevertheless...


speedy1zn wrote:
 
the second process is, wait for device initialization, that's the process that i cant get pass. i keep getting a message saying, application loader was unable to connect with your device. please re-connect your device, enter the password, if required, and click retry.

So, what happens when you do exactly as it instructs?


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-07-2012
My Device: blackberry 9320
My Carrier: cell c

Re: help with software upgrade

lol i think we on two different pages.

 

i have tried all those links or articles you have given me to try and i get the same results all time, with the exact same error message.

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 59,104
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: help with software upgrade

OK...so, what about my prior question? What happens when you do exactly as the error message tells you to do?

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-07-2012
My Device: blackberry 9320
My Carrier: cell c

Re: help with software upgrade

it keeps giving me the ame error message, it doesnt want to connect to the phone so that it can complete the upgrade or should i say installing the software.

 

i have even downloaded that bbask program or app to remove the software but it wont connect to the phone.

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 59,104
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: help with software upgrade

Hmmm...well, I still don't know which of the 4 processes you are following, but let's try some prerequisites...

 

Have you downloaded and installed, to your PC, the most recent Desktop Software?


Have you also, after the above, downloaded and installed, to your PC, the OS package you wish to install to your BB?

If that OS package is from a carrier other than the carrier for which your BB was originally manufactured, have you also deleted, on your PC, all copies of VENDOR.XML? There will be at least one, and perhaps 2, and they will be located in or similarly to (it changes based on your Windows version) these folders:

  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
  • C:\Users\(your Windows UserName)\AppData\Roaming\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML


Have you ensured that there is only one BB OS package installed to your PC?


 

Have you tried different USB ports on your computer?


 

Given what you describe, have you tried yet the article I linked above that is directly related to the symptom you are now describing?

If not, please do so...this may be exactly what you need.

 

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................