Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
abs
Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
My Device: Not Specified

how to add Language???

[ Edited ]

During the setup wizard (step 3 of 12), I inadvertantly deleted all languages...

 

How can I gain access to the languages so I can write emails in Spanish?

 

This is for a 8310 Blackberry Curve.

 

thanks for your help!Smiley Sad 

Message Edited by abs on 08-29-2008 06:05 PM
Message Edited by abs on 08-29-2008 06:06 PM
Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: how to add Language???

Hi and welcome to the forums!

I believe if you go to OPTIONS-ADVACNED OPTIONS-HOST ROUTING TABLES, click on it, hit the menukey select REGISTER NOW. You will get an email telling you it's registered. Pull the battery while the device is ON,

leave it out for a minute, replace and let the device reboot  1-3 min. Check to see if you have your languages back

Please let me know!

Thanks

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

abs
Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: how to add Language???

[ Edited ]

I folllowed your steps - after clicking on Register Now, it tells me "Registration message sent (OK)"

 

Haven't received any email though?

 

I took battery out for a minute and went back to wizard but foreign languages are still missing...? 

 

Message Edited by abs on 08-29-2008 06:19 PM
abs
Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: how to add Language???

OK, it did send an email back to my blackberry - I took baterry out while it was still on, waited 3 minutes, rebooted, and still my languages on step 3 (on the setup wizzard) are missing?

 

Smiley Indifferent 

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: how to add Language???

Sometimes it takes a while, let me know when you get the email.

OK? Smiley Happy

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

abs
Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: how to add Language???

OK, it did send an email back to my blackberry - I took baterry out while it was still on, waited 3 minutes, rebooted, and still my languages on step 3 (on the setup wizzard) are missing?

 

 

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: how to add Language???

Let me search, be right back!
Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

abs
Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: how to add Language???

[ Edited ]
I repeated all your suggested steps 3 times -  increasing the wait in beween steps to see if it would work, but no luck...
Message Edited by abs on 08-29-2008 06:40 PM
Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: how to add Language???

Ok, here's what we need to to.

 

Download your current or updated device OS from your carrier software download site. Install it in your PC and use Application loader of your desktop manager to add Japanese Language Support.

 

Do you know how to to this?

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

abs
Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: how to add Language???

 

My carrier is Rogers Wireless -  

 

https://your.rogers.com/web_auth/techsupport.asp?brand=22&model=8310R

 

this link is as far as I can get but I'm not sure what do do next?

 

 What does the Japanese version have to do with the Spanish letters?  where is the Japanese version?