Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-15-2012
My Device: bold 9900
My Carrier: EE

mobile equipment status failed

Please help! I'm a community support worker and rely on my mobile phone. When I try to send a text message I get the following message in red .. mobile equipment status failed .. and then the text doesnt send and it has a red cross next to it. Any ideas why or how to fix it? kind regards Curlyt70

Retired
Posts: 3,198
Registered: ‎01-27-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: mobile equipment status failed

Hi curlyt70 and welcome to the BlackBerry Support Community Forums!

 

I would recommend contacting your wireless provider regarding this message. As SMS uses the wireless provider's service to send and receive, any issues surrounding it should be directed to them.

 

Thanks.

 

 

-CptS

 

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-25-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: mobile equipment status failed

Hi CptS
Rogers told me tonight that because of the very statement "Mobile Equipment Status Failed" means it's the blackberry bold 9900 itself and they'd be happy to fix it if I were to send it in. It has nothing to do with Rogers' network.

Frustrating to say the least
Super Contributor
Posts: 395
Registered: ‎09-11-2010
My Device: BB Q10
My Carrier: vodafone UK

Re: mobile equipment status failed

Hello!
Is it happening with every text message you're sending? Because it is happening to me as well, but not everytime. It happens if the network is busy. If you have some application running which uses data or when the device is communicating with BB servers and a lot amount of data is transfering. Then it is possible to see that message, I got it today once.
Regards,
Kostadin
Blackberry! Here, now, forever!
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-08-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: mobile equipment status failed

in the SMS application click the BlackBerry menu > options > under "network to send over" make sure it says "switched circuit" 

 

This will resolve the issue Smiley Happy 

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-12-2013
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: mobile equipment status failed

Been trying for months to solve this.

 

I AM ECSTATIC TO SAY THE FIX PROPOSED WORKED! Changed to "Circuit Switched".

 

Thank you, to the one who posted that fix.

 

Does anyone know if you should leave the "Leave Messages On SIM Card" check box, and what ramifications are for doing that? Or not?