Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-09-2013
My Device: bold 9900
My Carrier: wind mobile
Accepted Solution

multilanguage and input method

I updated the 7.1 os and it took me to multilanguage and input method. i had once successful set up. anyway, now it seemed disappeared on the phone, and on the PC desktop software doesn't show language. I did delete the OSI and reinstall, the problem the same. I want he multilanguage and other language input method. Any suggestion? Please be advised.

Developer
Posts: 1,185
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
My Device: Passport/Z30//Q10/ Z10 / 9900 / PlayBook / 9700 / 8900
My Carrier: ATT

Re: multilanguage and input method

In the blackberry desktop software you would be able to select the languages you want to install if the Os you install supports multilingual.
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-09-2013
My Device: bold 9900
My Carrier: wind mobile

Re: multilanguage and input method

thx.  under the application in the desktop software there have no languages shown. i 100% sure i downloaded multilanguage OS. Smiley Sad

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,599
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: multilanguage and input method

What is the first line item that does show in the application list within the Desktop Software? If it's not the core OS itself and rather an add-on or 3rd party app, then the OS package you installed to your PC is being ignored by the Desktop Software, and the "automatic" method is also not working.

Let us know!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-09-2013
My Device: bold 9900
My Carrier: wind mobile

Re: multilanguage and input method

Thx. The first two lines are BB 7.1.0 software and App. software. But all dimed as Aquired and Available. I couldn't change anything. and there have a red Star at the front. No idea what does it mean. Please be advised. I try to update the OS with the device connected, but it comes up to the point saying that the error of internet connection problem...stop there. I have no idea.

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,599
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: multilanguage and input method

OK...that now makes sense...the automatic method is sensing your BB and installed OS level, but it is not able to properly download what it needs from the Internet to continue. And the red star means that there is an update it wants to offer you, but again it's having trouble downloading what it needs.

 

So, what you need to do is to defeat the automatic method and instead force things. The simplest way is to, on a PC (you cannot do this on MAC):

1) Uninstall, from your PC, any BB OS packages

2) Make sure you have the BB Desktop Software already installed

3) Download and install, to your PC, the BB OS package you desire:

  • http://us.blackberry.com/support/downloads/download_sites.jsp
  • If you want to just reload your current version, you would navigate to your carriers download portal and obtain the exact same package you are already running
    • KB23393 How to check the model number and version of installed BlackBerry device software on a BlackBerry smartphone
  • But if you want to go for an update, you can see what your carrier has, or you can dig into all carriers that support your specific model number BB and compare the versions each make available.
  • Also consider this information as you choose your BB OS package:
    • KB05305Localization support for BlackBerry smartphones

4) Delete, on your PC, all copies of VENDOR.XML...there will be at least one, and perhaps 2, and they will be located in or similarly to (it changes based on your Windows version) these folders:

  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
  • C:\Users\(your Windows UserName)\AppData\Roaming\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML

5) Launch the Desktop Software and connect your BB

 

If you chose to update your BB OS, then the software should immediately offer you the OS package you installed to your PC, before you can do anything else. If, during the process, your BB presents a "507" error, simply unplug the USB cord from the BB and re-insert it...don't do anything else...this should allow the install to continue.

 

If you chose your exact same BB OS package that is already running on your BB, then you should be able to proceed with installing the languages you desire (assuming, based on the Localization KB, you installed the proper BB OS package that includes your desired language).

 

Don't forget to backup.

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-09-2013
My Device: bold 9900
My Carrier: wind mobile

Re: multilanguage and input method

 

You are Genius. I just followed your instruction step by step...even took me more than an hour, all problem fixed. Thanks for your help.

 

Dear all, I love this guy and this forum. We could help each other in this community.

 

Support RIM