Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

New Contributor
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

"Service Not Enabled for this Handheld"

Okay, so I try signing in to AIM and MSN/WLM, but I get that message: "Service Not Enabled for this Handheld". I'm honestly not very fluent in phone-language and I'm new to Blackberries. So if anybody can help me it'd be really appreciated. My service provider is T-Mobile, and I do have an Unlimited Domestic Messaging plan. As far as I know though, that should have no bearing on whether or not I can sign in, so I don't know what to do.
Forums Advisor III
My Device: AT&T BOLD OS 4.6.0.167

Re: "Service Not Enabled for this Handheld"

To run the IM services there has to be an agreement between RIM, your carrier, and the IM client. Until there is there is nothing you can do about it to make it work. You may want to try webmessenger. I can get that to work for me.
~Lorrie~ Master of All Things Blackberry!
New Contributor

Webmessenger?

Also, how would I go about making the agreement between the three? I actually browsed the forums and saw the same thing, but it's more like a foreign language to me.

Forums Advisor III

You can't get them to agree. That's THEIR issue. There is NOTHING you can do to make it work. Webmessenger is a third party IM client. You can download it directly to your phone by going to webmessenger.com on you phone. You can use AOL, yahoo, MSN, ICQ, google and jabber. It is not as "pretty" as other IM services but it gets the job done.
New Contributor

Alright, thank you.
Forums Advisor III

You're welcome. Please let me know if you need any help with it if you choose to download it.
Guru II
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T