Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-26-2013
My Device: blackberry curve 8520
My Carrier: Giffgaff

setting bbm up

I got a second hand blackberry and i swiped everything of there, when it came to the bbm it just keeps saying seting up bbm on a blue screen, i have uninstalled it and installed it again, i have switch the phone off and tooken the battery out for about 5 minutes what else can i do?
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎04-16-2013
My Device: bold 9900
My Carrier: 0

Re: setting bbm up

have you done a complete wipe of the phone?
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-26-2013
My Device: blackberry curve 8520
My Carrier: Giffgaff

Re: setting bbm up

Yeah i have
Posts: 94,663
Likes: 24,430
Solutions: 6,357
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: setting bbm up

From your Options > Advanced > Applications, delete the BBM app.

Do a simple reboot on the BlackBerry in this manner: With the BlackBerry device POWERED ON, remove the battery for a minute, and then reinsert the battery to reboot.

Once rebooted, use the browser to go to www.blackberry.com/bbm and reinstall.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-26-2013
My Device: blackberry curve 8520
My Carrier: Giffgaff

Re: setting bbm up

Ive done that as well and it still don't work.
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎04-16-2013
My Device: bold 9900
My Carrier: 0

Re: setting bbm up

how did you do a complete wipe?
what exactly did you do?
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-26-2013
My Device: blackberry curve 8520
My Carrier: Giffgaff

Re: setting bbm up

I went into security options and went into security wipe and i wiped the emails, contact etc and user installed applications.
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎04-16-2013
My Device: bold 9900
My Carrier: 0

Re: setting bbm up

did you enter blackberry ?? and it completely wiped the phone??
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-26-2013
My Device: blackberry curve 8520
My Carrier: Giffgaff

Re: setting bbm up

Yeah i did
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎04-16-2013
My Device: bold 9900
My Carrier: 0

Re: setting bbm up

so after the wipe, you connected to the PC and BB desktop manager?