Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-03-2013
My Device: 8520 Curve
My Carrier: Airtel

wi fi error

[ Edited ]

Hello,

I have tried and tried to get the wi-fi to work on my BB curve 8520 with very little luck. It worked for about 2 minutes for one day and that was it.  I cannot figure out what I am doing wrong. I know my wi-fi is working in my home as well as in office as my brother use it for other devices. I know it is something small and simple but the frustration it is causing me is HUGE!! I am using TATA as my my Wi fi Services and I am able to connect with it successfully as it shows me TATA in green. However when I click on the browser error message is displayed as "Unable to connect to internet. Please try again later. If the problem persists please contact your service provider".

 

Please help.

 

Guru II
Posts: 21,521
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: wi fi error

On your device, go to Options >Advanced Options >Browser. Set your default browser to "hotspot browser." Save settings.

That should do it.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-03-2013
My Device: 8520 Curve
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: wi fi error

Thanks John,

 

But even this is not helping as I had tried this earlier also. Smiley Sad

Guru II
Posts: 21,521
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: wi fi error

Under Mobile Network make sure "Data Services" is turned on. Otherwise, you will get NO data even on wifi.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-03-2013
My Device: 8520 Curve
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: wi fi error

It's on buddy..

Guru II
Posts: 21,521
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: wi fi error

Which Browser are you using? Make sure it's the one that just says "Browser" and not one that is a carrier branded browser.

Also, is the wifi logo highlighted on the home screen or is it faded? It needs to be highlighted.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-03-2013
My Device: 8520 Curve
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: wi fi error

It says browser only..

 

and the logo is in grey and black. What to do..??