Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-11-2011
My Device: torch 9810
My Carrier: at&t

Re: wifi on torch 9810

What about wifi? Is there any chance to use wifi?
Posts: 94,479
Likes: 24,392
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: wifi on torch 9810


maliksufian wrote:
What about wifi? Is there any chance to use wifi?

Sure, but for WiFi to work for BlackBerry data services, you must have also subscribed to that data plan. Otherwise, ATT will be adding it to your bill anyway. ATT does not allow BlackBerry on their network without the proper data plan.

 

But you can still use the hotspot browser ONLY if you are properly connected to a WiFi router. For free,... but the browser only.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-23-2012
My Device: 9810
My Carrier: Indosat

Re: wifi on torch 9810

I can't connect use wifi to my blackberry, and I looked at my wifi options, and troubleshoot, a Blackberry Infrastructure in box is red cross, and I compare with other device a blackberry infrastructure green pick (conected), may I know to fix the problem?
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-28-2012
My Device: Blackberry torch 9810
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: wifi on torch 9810

I have same issue, Although in the homescreen near carrier signal options it shows wifi is connected with its signals. But when I access browser it shows plaese connect to wifi. Its clear return in specification of 9810 that it supports wifi but its not working. Means we have to buy Internet plan although we have wifi facility?

Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: wifi on torch 9810

hi,

 

I just got a blackberry 9810, and I am not able to setup the wifi, when i go to options-->device and status information, under the Wi-Fi information section, the ip address set is 0.0.0.0, (my modem is set for dhcp, other wifi devices are able to connect).

 

On home screen also, it says wifi connected...

 

Help me too, if you can please.

 

Thanks,

 

Mansoor Ali A

Posts: 94,479
Likes: 24,392
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: wifi on torch 9810

mansooralia, when you are in the Manage Connections > WiFi setup, does the 9800 see your WiFI router?

 

If you are at a local coffee shop or hotspot, does it see the Router names?

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: wifi on torch 9810

Yes I see the WiFi name. That's my home network
Posts: 94,479
Likes: 24,392
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: wifi on torch 9810

Ok, so look at your Manage Connections screen > WiFi network, does it say connected to WiFi there?

 

On your Manage Connections screen, click on the Services Status.
What is the status of the BlackBerry Internet Service?

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: wifi on torch 9810

It is connected. But in options-->device and status information, under the Wi-Fi information section, the ip address set is 0.0.0.0, (my modem is set for dhcp, other wifi devices are able to connect).
Posts: 94,479
Likes: 24,392
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: wifi on torch 9810

ok.

 

I also asked: 

On your Manage Connections screen, click on the Services Status.
What is the status of the BlackBerry Internet Service?

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code