Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

wiping memory on my device - can anyone access old data?

I have just wiped my 8700 device to pass it onto someone else to use. I am concerned that previous confidential data could still be accessed - can anyone advise if wiping the device definitely clears all data for good?
Guru II
Posts: 22,044
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: wiping memory on my device - can anyone access old data?

The data cannot be accessed.  However, there is a feature called "content protection" that will scrub the memory clean when a wipe is performed.  It takes the wipe several hours instead of several minutes.  This feature prevents someone from removing the physical memory chip and reading via other methods.  If the data is super sensitive, then that might be something to consider having active on the device.  But for all practical purposes, nobody can read the data after a wipe.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: wiping memory on my device - can anyone access old data?

Thanks very much for the advice - I will certainly look at enabling content protection.

 

Best regards