Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

Developer
My Device: BlackBerry Z10, PlayBook, 9900
My Carrier: Telus

Can't connect PlayBook to *my* WPA2 wifi (D-Link Wireless N Router) - very frustrated

I'm gettting massively frustrated with this and would appreciate any assistance.

OK, so to start I'm a developer and I've managed to use my PlayBook for months, connecting to various WiFi networks without issue... except at home.

I have actually connected to it 100's of times, but the connection is flakey and often it fails to connect because it can't get an IP Address (my router is set to offer up 100's of them by DHCP... ONLY my PlayBook has issues getting one)

I have thus far had no issue connecting the following devices to my router:

Laptops (5 different brands/models),

iPad,

iPod (4 different devices)

Blackberry phones (3 different models)

iPhone (2 different models)

but the PlayBook always seems to have issues...

I've tried connecting using the "sync" WPS feature both by pressing the button on the router, as well as entering a PIN on the router config page - no luck.

I've tried entering the correct password multiple times - no luck... it always fails to get an IP Address.

I've even pre-assigned a dedicated IP Address to the MAC Address of the PlayBook... (all my other devices skip it) yet the PlayBook won't take it.

The router is a D-Link DIR-615 H/W /ver C1, Firmware ver 3.13NA Wireless N.

Its entirely possible that I've goofed something up, and I'm willing to try anything to resolve it - however if anyone else is having similar issues please chime in... and for anyone at RIM with 5min free... a quick "paranoia" once over look at the connecting / IP gathering code in this area would be greatly appreciated... in case there's an odd "off by 1" error of some kind in this area.