Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-22-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: 21

Charge My Playbook Via USB

Hello every one,

Since  the last update of my blackberry Playbook i have this message.

 

 

How i can solve it???

Plz help me  

 

P.S: My Playbook OS Version 2.1.0.1088

Developer
Posts: 863
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: Z30 / PlayBook 64GB
My Carrier: Virgin Mobile UK

Re: Charge My Playbook Via USB

What charger are you plugging into the PlayBook?

Follow me on Twitter1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-22-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: 21

Re: Charge My Playbook Via USB

I'd like to use my USB Cable to charge my Playbook not my Adaptater.

 

Super Contributor
Posts: 367
Registered: ‎09-22-2012
My Device: Playbook 32
My Carrier: 3

Re: Charge My Playbook Via USB


thekingtn wrote:

I'd like to use my USB Cable to charge my Playbook not my Adaptater.

 


Read the manual. Says you cannot. That's why you got the message. OS 2.0 and earlier did not warn you, it just struggled. 

________
Developer
Posts: 863
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: Z30 / PlayBook 64GB
My Carrier: Virgin Mobile UK

Re: Charge My Playbook Via USB

As Troy said, you should be using the supplied charger for your PlayBook. It's just protecting itself for being charged with the wrong current / voltage.

Follow me on Twitter1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-26-2012
My Device: Playbook - 64gb - wifi
My Carrier: Crapdo - aka Fido

Re: Charge My Playbook Via USB

You would have to modify your usb cable to charge the playbook via usb. (I did it with a spare cable to try, and it works flawlessly)

What needs to be done , you need to cut the cable closest to the playbook side. Reconnect the power properly, (black to black , red to red) then, only on the Playbook side. Green to White. (that's the data line) , do it neatly, solder to add strength to the mod. I used heat shrnk on all the ends to protect it, then heat shrink tube over the entire area to protect it.

Now I have a charge only cable that I can use in the car, on my laptop, desktop.
Super Contributor
Posts: 367
Registered: ‎09-22-2012
My Device: Playbook 32
My Carrier: 3

Re: Charge My Playbook Via USB

[ Edited ]

I suggest using a cheap USB extension cable to do that, and rather than cutting the cable, slit the insulation and pull out the white and green leaving the red and black intact. cut the green and white and join green to white on the female plug end as per the picture below.  Then solder and re-insulate with good tape.

 

I have never ttried it on a PC, only high output adapters, so would be interested to know if the warning message is inhibited. 500mA is still rather low output.

 

extension.jpg

________
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-26-2012
My Device: Playbook - 64gb - wifi
My Carrier: Crapdo - aka Fido

Re: Charge My Playbook Via USB

[ Edited ]

EEK!

 

345D6D53-E771-4C01-A2E8-B652BC720321-14046-000015B250FF3556.jpg

 

 

DACE2348-8711-4845-BB3A-83ADB844CB8C-14046-000015B2609915C5.jpg

 

8A9B0686-5632-4F0B-8AC9-D2996AC77D99-14046-000015B27526F472.jpg

 

42AE6391-9BF2-46EE-80AD-38FBB0D6B437-14046-000015B23F9D441F.jpg

 

Sorry for the low quality mages.. was trying out the Playbook cam in LOW light ... not impressed. But it does wonderfully in well lite areas. 

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-22-2012
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: 21

Re: Charge My Playbook Via USB

Thanks for your advice and your help.

but why this message don't show in the previous version of the OS ???

Super Contributor
Posts: 367
Registered: ‎09-22-2012
My Device: Playbook 32
My Carrier: 3

Re: Charge My Playbook Via USB


thekingtn wrote:

Thanks for your advice and your help.

but why this message don't show in the previous version of the OS ???

__________

Because nobody coded in into the OS until 2.1  It cant make up it's own messages, someone has to write it into the code and that happend with 2.1

 

________