Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

New Contributor
My Device: Bold 9650/Playbook
My Carrier: Sprint

Checking Software Updates Issue

Just received my new Playbook. Trying to set it up and have run into a problem - Cant get past checking for Software updates. Error message appears that states: Cannot activate tablet - 3001 Please try changing your settings.

When a try to change settings it only takes me back to the WiFi screen.

Any help will be appreciated

New Contributor
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Checking Software Updates Issue

I just got off of the phone with RIM and after bitching about their troubleshooting (I am a networking professional and they keep trying to say that the wifi network is the issue, BS, my network is better than perfect) but I had my ticket escalated and I have a method for manually updating the Playbook using the Desktop Management Software.

First go download the Blackberry Desktop Management software. Here is a US link to the software:

http://us.blackberry.com/apps-software/desktop/

*NOTE* When you first plug your playbook into a computer it will automatically want to install the BLACKBERRY DEVICE MANAGER which is different from the BLACKBERRY DESKTOP MANAGER. *NOTE*

Once the software finishes the installation and the computer restarts, open the software. The software will take a while to open but once it is open you should see a screen that says something to the nature of plugging in a blackberry device.

*NOTE* THE PLAYBOOK HAS TO BE TURNED OFF FOR THIS TO WORK. I WILL REPEATE MYSELF, THE PLAYBOOK HAS TO BE OFF FOR THIS TO WORK. *NOTE*